A breakdown of how things work for Managed vs. Unmanaged accounts:
Disable an Employee with Full Managed
ADSAccount and assigned Exchange mailbox:
- The ADSAccount is flagged as disabled. Then the Active Directory (AD) account is disabled/deleted.
- Both the ADSAccount and Exchange accounts are marked for deletion.
- The Exchange account in AD is disabled.
- Deactivate the Employee - it is disabled, the ADSAccount is not, as expected.
- If the ADSAccount is then disabled manually, that disables the AD account, but NOT the Exchange mailbox.
Therefore, depending on the Account definition(s) and the configured manage levels, the AD Account and Exchange mailbox may or may not be deleted.
For more information regarding manage levels and Account definitions, please refer to the Administration Guide for Connecting to Active Directory, Setting up manage levels