Merge conflicts only occur when changes are transported, and these changes do not fit in the target. Data may be (unintentionally) overwritten here. Merge conflicts were introduced to protect the user from such problems. The handling of these merge conflicts should be configurable.
This is a product defect (32027).
This will be fixed on a future release of the product. If you require this immediately corrected, please contact support for a hotfix referencing the defect ID 32027.