In a configuration cluster, the managed host nodes fetch their configuration from the Central management node, and merge it into their own configuration. Depending on their role, nodes may merge the whole configuration into their own (Managed host nodes), or only the cluster-specific parts (nodes with no roles assigned).
Whenever a configuration change is made on the Central management node and the change is committed, it is synchronized to all nodes in the cluster as soon as the nodes fetch the latest configuration from the Central management node.
Changes to synchronized configurations should be made from the Central Management node.
Exception: The following configuration settings are never overwritten by configuration synchronization, even when not using a configuration synchronization plugin: