It is not possible to save changes to one of the workflow steps.
The following error pops up each time you try to modify a workflow step and save changes:
An item with the same key has already been added
Other workflow steps can be edited and changes can be saved.
You might have several workflow steps with identical ID (number) in the same workflow, for instance two Step 2 items.