Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Active Roles 7.3.1 - User Guide

Introduction Getting Started User or Service Account Management Group Management Computer Account Management Organizational Unit Management Management of Contacts Management of Exchange Recipients

Moving user accounts

Moving user accounts

To move user accounts to another container, select the accounts, right-click the selection, and then click Move. In the Move dialog box, select the container to which you want to move the accounts.

NOTE: The console provides the drag-and-drop function for moving objects. To move user accounts, you can drag the selection from the details pane to a destination container in the console tree.

Steps for moving a user account

Steps for moving a user account

To move a user account

  1. In the console tree, locate and select the folder that contains the user account.
  2. In the details pane, right-click the user account and click Move to display the Move dialog box.
  3. In the Move dialog box, select the folder to which you want to move the account, and then click OK.

NOTE:

  • With Active Roles, user accounts, as well as other directory objects, can only be moved within the same domain. This means that the folder to which you want to move the account must belong to the same domain as the account.
  • You can move multiple user accounts at a time: Select the accounts, right-click the selection, and click Move to display the Move dialog box. To select multiple accounts, press and hold down CTRL, and then click each account.
  • You can move user accounts, by using the drag-and-drop feature. To move a selection of objects, drag the selection from the details pane to the destination container in the console tree.
  • You can use the Find function of Active Roles in order to locate the user accounts you want to move. Once you have found the user accounts, you can move them as follows: Select the accounts in the list of search results, right-click the selection, and click Move to display the Move dialog box.

Exporting and importing user accounts

Exporting and importing user accounts

With the Active Roles console, you can export user accounts to an XML file and then import them from that file to populate a container in a different domain. The export and import operations provide a way to relocate user accounts between domains.

To export user accounts, select them, right-click the selection, and select All Tasks | Export. In the Export Objects dialog box, specify the file where you want to save the data, and click Save.

To import user accounts, right-click the container where you want to place the accounts, and then click Import. In the Import Directory Objects dialog box, select the file to which the user accounts were exported, and click Open.

Deleting user accounts

Deleting user accounts

To delete user accounts, select them, right-click the selection, and click Delete. Then, click Yes to confirm the deletion. If you select multiple user accounts, clicking Delete displays the Delete Objects dialog box. To delete all the selected accounts, select the Apply to all items check box, and then click Yes.

NOTE: Deleting a user account is an irreversible operation. A new user account with the same name as a deleted user account does not automatically assume the permissions and memberships of the deleted account. For this reason, it is advisable to disable rather than delete accounts.
Related Documents