Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Active Roles 7.4.1 - Solutions Guide

Active Roles Solutions Overview ERFM Solution Overview Configuration Transfer Wizard overview Understanding SPML Provider Skype for Business Solution Overview
Introducing Skype for Business Server User Management Supported Active Directory topologies User Management policy Master Account Management policy Access Templates for Lync Server Deploying the Solution Managing Skype for Business Server Users
Management Pack for SCOM

Enabling or disabling users for Skype for Business Server

By using the Active Roles Web Interface, you can enable, temporarily disable, or remove Active Directory users from Skype for Business Server.

Add and enable a new Skype for Business Server user

For an existing Active Directory user account, you can use the Active Roles Web Interface to create and enable a new Skype for Business Server user account by adding the Active Directory user to Skype for Business Server.

To add and enable a new Skype for Business Server user

  1. Select the user account in the Active Roles Web Interface for administrators.
  2. Click the Enable for Skype for Business Server command.

    The command is available if you have sufficient rights in Active Roles to enable users for Skype for Business Server, and the selected account is in the scope of the policy provided by Skype for Business Server User Management and is not enabled for Skype for Business Server; otherwise, the Web Interface does not display the Enable for Skype for Business Server command.

  1. On the page that appears, assign the user to a Skype for Business Server pool, specify any additional details, assign Skype for Business Server policies to the user as needed, and then click Finish.

Disable or re-enable a user account for Skype for Business Server

You can use the Active Roles Web Interface to disable a user account for logon to Skype for Business Server. This allows you to disable a previously enabled user account in Skype for Business Server while retaining all the Skype for Business Server settings that were configured for the user account. Because you do not lose the Skype for Business Server user account settings, you can re-enable a disabled user account again without having to reconfigure the user account.

To disable or re-enable a previously enabled user account for Skype for Business Server

  1. In the Active Roles Web Interface for administrators, select the user account that you want to disable or re-enable.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To disable the user account, click the Temporarily Disable for Skype for Business Server command.
    • To re-enable the user account, click the Re-enable for Skype for Business Server command.

The Web Interface displays the Temporarily Disable for Skype for Business Server command if you have sufficient rights in Active Roles to perform that command, and the user account you have selected is in the scope of the policy provided by Skype for Business Server User Management and is enabled for Skype for Business Server.

The Web Interface displays the Re-enable for Skype for Business Server command if you have sufficient rights in Active Roles to perform that command, and the user account you have selected is in the scope of the policy provided by Skype for Business Server User Management and was disabled by using the Temporarily Disable for Skype for Business Server command.

Remove a user account from Skype for Business Server

You can use the Active Roles Web Interface to remove a user account from Skype for Business Server. This removes all the Skype for Business Server related attributes from the user account, including the identities of any per-user policies that have been assigned to that user account. You can later re-add the account to Skype for Business Server by using the Enable for Skype for Business Server command (see Add and enable a new Skype for Business Server user). However, all the Skype for Business Server-related information (including policy assignments) previously associated with that account will have to be re-created. If you want to prevent a user from logging on to Skype for Business Server, but do not want to lose all of their account information, you can temporarily disable the user account for Skype for Business Server (see Disable or re-enable a user account for Skype for Business Server).

To remove a user account from Skype for Business Server

  1. In the Active Roles Web Interface for administrators, select the user account that you want to remove from Skype for Business Server.
  2. Click the Remove from Skype for Business Server command.

The Web Interface displays the Remove from Skype for Business Server command if you have sufficient rights in Active Roles to perform that command, and the user account you have selected is in the scope of the policy provided by Skype for Business Server User Management and is enabled or temporarily disabled for Skype for Business Server.

Related Documents