Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Enterprise Single Sign-On 9.0.2 - Authentication Manager Cluster Administration Guide

Preface Overview Administering Clusters From EAM Console Managing a Cluster from your Workstation Managing Session Delegation

Managing Session Delegation

Managing Session Delegation

Configuring Session Delegation

If for any reason you have to leave your workstation or cluster, you can delegate your Windows session to your delegate to monitor or intervene in any of your ongoing operations.

You can configure session delegation either:

Configuring Session Delegation in a Cluster

Configuring Session Delegation in a Cluster

In cluster mode, you can delegate your workstation to your Primary delegate or your Backup:

  • The Primary delegate is the main person to whom you are delegating your session.
  • If the Primary delegate is not available, the Backup is the one monitoring your workstation.

For more information on cluster configuration, go to Managing a Cluster from your Workstation.

There are two types of session delegation:

Setting a Temporary Session Delegation

Setting a Temporary Session Delegation

Subject
  • If the administrator has activated the approval function, your Primary delegate or your Backup must be at his workstation to accept the session delegation, i.e. with an unlocked workstation.
  • Once you have delegated your session, if your Primary delegate leaves and locks his workstation, your delegated workstations are not part of his cluster anymore. If he/she wants to include them back into his/her cluster he/she must follow the procedure described in Accessing a Colleague’s Workstation in a Cluster.
Procedure
  1. Right-click the Authentication Manager icon in the notification area and select Set temporary session delegation.
  2. Re-authenticate if needed.

    The Cluster wizard window appears.

    Figure 14: Cluster wizard

  3. Click the Manage delegates button to select your Favorite users and fill-in the Primary delegate and Backup drop-down lists. If you have already done so, go directly to step 7.

    The Manage delegates window appears.

    Figure 15: Manage Delegates

  4. Select your favorite users by typing their name in the Find names starting with field and click the Search button.

    A list of the names appears in the Search Results area.

  5. Select your favorite users and click the Add button to add the names to your favorite users list.
  6. Click Close.
  7. In the Primary delegate drop-down list, select your Primary delegate.
  8. If you want a Backup, select the Backup check box and select him/her in the drop-down list.
  9. Click the Advanced Delegation button to delegate more than one workstation from your cluster.
  10. Click the Delegate button.

    Your temporary session delegation is now set and the selected workstation(s) from your cluster is(are) delegated, pending approval from the Primary delegate/Backup.

    NOTE:

    • If you retrieve your smart card, your cluster locks itself except your delegated workstations.
    • For more information on accessing a delegated session, go to Accessing a Colleague’s Workstation.

Ending a Temporary Session Delegation

Ending a Temporary Session Delegation

Subject

There are different ways to end a temporary session delegation. If the master workstation is delegated, you have to end the delegation and lock the workstation by inserting your smart card and re-authenticate yourself.

Procedure

Do one of the following:

  • Reauthenticate yourself.
  • Use Authentication Manager:
    1. Right-click the Authentication Manager icon in the notification area and select Set temporary session delegation.
    1. Reauthenticate if needed.

      The Cluster wizard window appears.

    2. Click the Remove delegation button.

      The session delegation has ended.

  • Ask the Primary delegate or Backup to end the delegation (see Ending the control over a Workstation).
Table 1: Ending a Temporary Session Delegation

If...

Then...

the Primary delegate or Backup ends the delegation...

the delegated workstation(s) is/are locked.

you lock a cluster containing a delegated workstation...

the workstation locks itself.

you shut down a cluster containing a delegated workstation...

the workstation is released from the cluster and locks itself.

 

Related Documents