Chat now with support
Chat with Support

One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 2.4 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements Installing the One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords desktop client Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time Getting acquainted with the console Privileged access requests Toolbox Accounts Account Groups Assets Asset Groups Directories Entitlements Partitions Settings
Access Request settings Appliance settings Asset Management settings Backup and Retention settings Certificate settings Cluster settings External Integration settings Messaging settings Profile settings Access settings Sessions settings
Users User Groups Disaster recovery Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions
How do I access the API How do I audit transaction activity How do I configure external federation authentication How do I manage accounts on unsupported platforms How do I modify the appliance configuration settings How do I prevent Safeguard for Privileged Passwords messages when making RDP connections How do I see which assets and/or accounts are governed by a profile How do I set the appliance system time How do I setup discovery jobs How do Safeguard for Privileged Passwords database servers use SSL What are the access request states What do I do when an appliance goes into quarantine What is required for One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Privileged Sessions What is required to integrate with Starling Identity Analytics & Risk Intelligence What needs to be set up to use Application to Application What role-based email notifications are generated by default When does the rules engine run for dynamic grouping and tagging Why did the password change during an open request Why join Safeguard for Privileged Passwords to One Identity Starling
Safeguard Desktop Player Appendix: Safeguard ports

Factory reset

The Factory Reset option in the recovery kiosk allows you to reset a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against an appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

IMPORTANT: This is a challenge response operation, where Safeguard for Privileged Passwords generates a challenge that is then sent to One Identity Support to get a response back. You must then copy and paste this challenge response into the kiosk screen in order to proceed. Please keep the following information in mind when performing a challenge response operation:

  • A challenge response is only good for 24 hours.
  • Do not navigate away from the kiosk or refresh the kiosk during a challenge response operation. Doing so will invalidate the challenge response.

NOTE: Clustered environment: Performing a factory reset on a clustered appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. You will need to unjoin an appliance that has been factory reset from the cluster. The factory reset appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

To perform a factory reset from the recovery kiosk

NOTE: You must contact One Identity Technical Support to perform a Factory Reset from the recovery kiosk.

  1. From the recovery kiosk, select the Factory Reset option.
  2. Right arrow.
  3. At id, enter your identification and press the Tab key (or down arrow).
  4. At Get Challenge, press the Enter key.

    Safeguard for Privileged Passwords produces a challenge.

  5. Copy and paste the challenge and send it to One Identity Support.

  6. When you get the response from One Identity Support, copy and paste the response into the kiosk screen and select Factory Reset.

Support bundle

Note: Prior to using the Support Bundle option on the recovery kiosk, set up a Windows share where the support bundle is to be sent.

To generate a support bundle:

  1. From the recovery kiosk, select the Support Bundle option.
  2. Right arrow.
  3. Select the type of support bundle to be generated:

    • Support Bundle
    • Quarantine Bundle
  4. When prompted, enter the following information:

    • Address: Enter the address of the Windows share ( <IP Address>\<ShareName>) where the support bundle is to be saved.
    • User: Enter the user name to be used to access the Windows share.
    • Password: Enter the password associated with the specified user account.

      Note: If you set up the Windows share to allow anonymous access, you will not be prompted to enter a user name or password.

  5. Select Submit.

    When completed, a message appears stating that a support bundle has been sent to the specified share.

Replica not adding

If you receive a persistent message that says, "An internal request has timed out..." when you attempt to add an appliance to a cluster, ensure that the appliance is at the same version of Safeguard for Privileged Passwords as the primary. All members of a cluster must be the same.

System services did not update or restart after password change

If the system services do not update or restart after an automatic password change, first check your audit logs in the Activity Center.

Note: You can also check the Support Bundle logs.

If the audit logs do not adequately explain the problem, then check the options on the Change password tab of the profile that governs the service account. For more information, see Creating a partition profile.

For service accounts that run system services or scheduled system tasks, verify the options on the profile's Change password tab that enable or disable automatic service update, or restart. You must update the Change Password Setting to change these options. For more information, see Change Password.

Related Documents