One Identity Safeguard 2.5 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements Installing the One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords desktop client Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time Getting acquainted with the console Privileged access requests Toolbox Accounts Account Groups Assets Asset Groups Directories Entitlements Partitions Settings
Access Request settings Appliance settings Asset Management settings Backup and Retention settings Certificate settings Cluster settings External Integration settings Messaging settings Profile settings Access settings Sessions settings
Users User Groups Disaster recovery and clusters Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions
How do I access the API How do I audit transaction activity How do I configure external federation authentication How do I manage accounts on unsupported platforms How do I modify the appliance configuration settings How do I prevent Safeguard for Privileged Passwords messages when making RDP connections How do I see which assets and/or accounts are governed by a profile How do I set the appliance system time How do I setup discovery jobs How do Safeguard for Privileged Passwords database servers use SSL What are the access request states What do I do when an appliance goes into quarantine What is required for One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords, embedded sessions module What is required to integrate with Starling Identity Analytics & Risk Intelligence What needs to be set up to use Application to Application What role-based email notifications are generated by default When does the rules engine run for dynamic grouping and tagging Why did the password change during an open request Why join Safeguard for Privileged Passwords to One Identity Starling
Safeguard Desktop Player Appendix: Safeguard ports

Factory Reset from the desktop client

As an Appliance Administrator, you can use the Factory Reset feature to reset a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against an appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

NOTE: Clustered environment: Performing a factory reset on a clustered appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. The recommended best practice is to unjoin an appliance from the cluster before performing a factory reset on the appliance. After the unjoin and factory reset, the appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

To perform a factory reset from the desktop client

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Factory Reset.
  2. Click Factory Reset.
  3. In the Factory Reset confirmation dialog, enter the words Factory Reset and click OK.

    The appliance will go into Maintenance mode to revert the appliance. Once completed, you will be prompted to restart the desktop client. If the appliance had been in a cluster, you may need to unjoin the factory reset appliance. The factory reset appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time. In addition, when you log into the appliance, you will be prompted to add your Safeguard for Privileged Passwords licenses.

Licensing

It is the responsibility of the Appliance Administrator to manage the Safeguard for Privileged Passwords licenses. The first time you log into Safeguard for Privileged Passwords, it prompts you to add a license. In addition, you can add a new module license or update a license.

Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings| Appliance | Licensing.

Note: For more information, see Product licensing.

Table 145: Licensing options
Setting Description
Adding a license

To add a new module license to Safeguard for Privileged Passwords.

Applying an updated license

To update a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords module license.

Adding a license

The first time you log into Safeguard for Privileged Passwords as the Appliance Administrator, it prompts you to add a license. In addition, you can add additional Safeguard for Privileged Passwords module licenses.

To add a new module license

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings| Appliance | Licensing.
  2. Click .
  3. Browse to select the license file.

    Once you add a license, Safeguard for Privileged Passwords displays the current license information and additional links that allow you to update the license or view the license history for a module.

  4. To add another module license, click Add Another License in the Success dialog.

Note: To avoid disruptions in the use of Safeguard for Privileged Passwords, the Appliance Administrator must configure the SMTP server, and define email templates for the License Expired and the License Expiring Soon event types. This ensures you will be notified of an approaching expiration date. For more information, see Enabling email notifications.

Applying an updated license

As the Appliance Administrator, you can update a module license.

To update a module license

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Licensing.
  2. Select Update License in the lower left corner of a module's licensing information pane.
  3. Browse to select the license file. Select Open.

Note: To avoid disruptions in the use of Safeguard for Privileged Passwords, the Appliance Administrator must configure the SMTP server, and define email templates for the License Expired and the License Expiring Soon event types. This ensures you will be notified of an approaching expiration date. For more information, see Enabling email notifications.

Related Documents