Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Safeguard Authentication Services 4.2 - Mac OS X/macOS Administration Guide

One Identity Privileged Access Suite for Unix Installation The Authentication Services Mac OS X components Configuring the Authentication Services client Special Mac OS X features Authentication Services limitations on Mac OS X Authentication Services Group Policy for Mac OS X Certificate Autoenrollment

System Preferences tab

The System Preferences tab settings of the System Preferences Properties control which items appear in System Preferences on managed clients. System Preferences settings supports the following management modes: Never, Always.

You can control which items appear in System Preferences on managed clients. The System Preferences tab displays a list of System Preferences items. Select to place or clear the check mark in the Show column next to the item that you want to show or hide. Click Show All to select all items or Show None to clear all items.

Time Machine properties

The Time Machine Properties allow you to control the Time Machine application which provides network backups of installed applications, preferences, documents and local account data. For more information about Time Machine, refer to documentation provided by Apple.

You can apply Time Machine Properties settings only under the Computer Configuration.

Related Topics

Time Machine tab

Time Machine tab

The Time Machine tab settings control the Time Machine application and support the following management modes: Never, Always.

Time Machine is an application that performs network backup of local machine applications and data.

The following options are supported:

  • Backup Server

    Specify the URL of the Time Machine backup server in the form: afp://someserver.company.com/Backups/. Refer to the Apple documentation for more information about AFP and Time Machine backup servers.

  • Back up

    Specify which volumes to back up. You can choose to back up Startup volume only or All local volumes.

  • Skip system files

    Select to skip system files. System files are operating system files installed when you install Mac OS X. Selecting this option significantly reduces the amount of storage space used for backups. However, if you do not back up system files, you will need to install the operating system when performing a full restore.

  • Backup automatically

    Select this option to force automatic backups.

  • Limit total backup storage to

    Enter the backup storage limit in megabytes. If the backup limit is reached, no more data is backed up.

Universal Access properties

The Universal Access settings allow you to set up and manage settings for users with special needs.

You can apply Universal Access Properties settings under both Computer Configuration and User Configuration.

Related Topics

Seeing tab

Hearing tab

Keyboard tab

Mouse tab

Options tab

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating