Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Current - Administration Guide

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Getting started Collaborators Users Approvals Integrations Hardware Tokens Settings Downloads

Dashboard page

Upon opening Starling Two-Factor Authentication, you will be directed to the Dashboard page. The Dashboard page provides an overview of your subscription.

The following information is displayed on the Dashboard page:

Calls

This tile displays the number of calls made in the current month regardless of whether the authentication was successful.

SMS

This tile displays the number of codes sent in the current month regardless of whether the authentication was successful.

Authentications

This tile displays the number of successful authentications (excluding push notifications) in the current month.

Service usage graph

This graph reflects the Calls, SMS, and Authentications tile information for the entire history of the subscription.

License Details

This pane provides the following licensing information for your Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. The information contained in this pane changes depending on the type of subscription you have:

Subscription Details

This pane provides the following information on the Starling Two-Factor Authentication subscription:

  • Id: This field displays your subscription Id. This may be requested by Support if you contact them for assistance with your subscription.
Subscription Key

This expandable tile contains the key needed to integrate a client product with Starling Two-Factor Authentication. For information on using this key with your client product, contact Sales or Support. A new key can only be generated every 24 hours.

Primary Administrators and Administrators can use the Create New Key button to generate a new key (although Administrators will require approval for the new key) for any reason. After a new key is generated, the old key will remain valid for 24 hours.

Collaborators

Topics:

Introduction to Collaborators

Starling Two-Factor Authentication allows users to add collaborators to their service (as Primary Administrator, Administrator, or Helpdesk) based on the type of access required for the user. Adding additional collaborators is optional and can be done at any time using the Collaborators page.

The following roles are available for your collaborators:

  • Primary Administrator: This role allows you full access to all parts of the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service and allows you full configuration capabilities. There must always be at least one Primary Administrator associated with the service.
  • Administrator: This role allows you full access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. However, Administrators will require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator when they make changes to the collaborators for the service or generate a new subscription key.
  • Helpdesk: This role provides limited access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. Specifically, Helpdesk users have access to the Users page, Hardware Tokens page, and a limited view of the Dashboard page. Helpdesk users are responsible for managing users, including issuing temporary access tokens.

Collaborators page

The Collaborators page is displayed when Collaborators is clicked in the navigation bar. The Collaborators page is used for adding and managing the collaborators currently associated with the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. Primary Administrators have full access and permissions on this page, whereas Administrators will require a secondary approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator before their changes will take effect.

The following options appear on this page:

Invite Collaborator

Clicking this button opens the Invite Collaborator dialog so you can add new collaborators to your Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. For more information, see Adding additional collaborators or Adding additional Azure AD work account collaborators.

Refresh

Clicking this button refreshes the table.

This field is used to search for a user based on their name or email. To use the search functionality, start typing in the field. The table will automatically update to display results that match.

The following information and options appear in the table on this page:

Name

This displays the name specified in the collaborator invite.

Email

This displays the email address associated with the collaborator.

Role

This displays the role currently assigned to the collaborator. The available roles are:

  • Primary Administrator: This role allows you full access to all parts of the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service and allows you full configuration capabilities. There must always be at least one Primary Administrator associated with the service.
  • Administrator: This role allows you full access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. However, Administrators will require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator when they make changes to the collaborators for the service or generate a new subscription key.
  • Helpdesk: This role provides limited access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. Specifically, Helpdesk users have access to the Users page, Hardware Tokens page, and a limited view of the Dashboard page. Helpdesk users are responsible for managing users, including issuing temporary access tokens.
Status

This displays the status of the collaborator. When a collaborator is added they will be marked as Invited until the invitation has been accepted, at which point the Status column will update to display Registered. If an Administrator has selected to remove a collaborator, a status of Pending Removal will appear until the request has been approved or rejected.

The button appearing for a collaborator contains the following options depending on the current status of the collaborator.

  • Edit Role: Available for a confirmed collaborator, selecting this option opens the Edit Role dialog where you can make changes to the selected role. Administrators that make edits to a collaborator require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator. For more information, see Editing roles.
  • Remove Collaborator: Available for a confirmed collaborator, select this option to remove the collaborator from Starling Two-Factor Authentication. Administrators that select to remove a collaborator require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator. For more information, see Removing collaborators.
  • Resend Invitation: Available for an invited collaborator, selecting this option resends the invitation to the selected collaborator if they have not yet accepted. For more information, see Resending collaborator invitation.
  • Cancel Invitation: Available for an invited collaborator, selecting this option cancels the invitation to the selected collaborator if they have not yet accepted. For more information, see Canceling collaborator invitation.

NOTE: You are unable to manage your own collaborator account. If you are the only Primary Administrator for the account then only another Primary Administrator can remove or edit your role. Coordinate with other administrators before making edits to their roles to avoid removing each other as administrators.

Related Documents