Starling Two-Factor Authentication Current - Administration Guide

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Getting started Collaborators Users Approvals Hardware Tokens Settings Starling Two-Factor Authentication applications

Managing collaborators

The following sections provide information on managing collaborators for the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service.

Adding additional collaborators

Collaborators are optional and can be added at any time. For information on adding a collaborator from your Azure AD account, see Adding additional Azure AD work account collaborators.

NOTE: Administrators require a secondary approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator before their changes will take effect.

To add additional collaborators

  1. On the Collaborators page, click Invite Collaborator.
  2. In the Invite Collaborator dialog, click the Role field to select the role that will be assigned to the new collaborator:
    • Primary Administrator: This role allows you full access to all parts of the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service and allows you full configuration capabilities. There must always be at least one Primary Administrator associated with the account.
    • Administrator: This role allows you full access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. However, Administrators will require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator when they make changes to the collaborators for the service or generate a new subscription key.
    • Helpdesk: This role allows you limited access to the Dashboard for managing users, Hardware Tokens page, and to the Users page to generate temporary response codes.
  3. Enter the name and email address for the new collaborator.
  4. Click Invite.
  5. An email will be sent with a link to either register a new account that has access to your organization or, if the recipient has already registered with Starling using this email address, a notification that they now have access to your organization's Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. They will be marked as Registered (already registered users) or Invited (new Starling users) until the invitation has been accepted (at which point the Status column will update to display Registered).

    NOTE: Users associated with multiple organizations can switch between Starling subscriptions once they have logged in (Managing multiple Starling organizations).

    NOTE: Until an invite has been accepted, the following options are available:

    • Resend Invitation: Selecting this option will resend the invitation.
    • Cancel Invitation: Selecting this option will cancel the invitation. The invited user will not be notified that the invitation was canceled; however, when logging in they will be unable to access the service.

Adding additional Azure AD work account collaborators

Collaborators are optional and can be added at any time. For information on adding a collaborator from outside your Azure AD account, see Adding additional collaborators.

To add additional Azure AD work account collaborators

  1. On the Collaborators page, click Invite Collaborator.
  2. In the Role field, select the role that will be assigned to the new collaborator:
    • Primary Administrator: This role allows you full access to all parts of the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service and allows you full configuration capabilities. There must always be at least one Primary Administrator associated with the service.
    • Administrator: This role allows you full access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. However, Administrators will require approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator when they make changes to the collaborators for the service or generate a new subscription key.
    • Helpdesk: This role provides limited access to the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. Specifically, Helpdesk users have access to the Users page, Hardware Tokens page, and a limited view of the Dashboard page. Helpdesk users are responsible for managing users, including issuing temporary access tokens.
  3. Click in the Search for collaborator field and begin typing in the empty field to filter the available collaborators.

  4. Click the name of the collaborator you want to add to populate the field.

    NOTE: If the collaborator cannot be found or is not associated with your Azure AD tenant, click Unable to find collaborator and enter the name and email address of the user you would like to add as a collaborator to your organization.

  5. Click Invite.
  6. An email will be sent with a link to either register a new account that has access to your organization or, if the recipient has already registered with Starling using this email address, a notification that they now have access to your organization's Starling Two-Factor Authentication service. They will be marked as Registered (already registered users) or Invited (new Starling users) until the invitation has been accepted (at which point the Status column will update to display Registered).

    NOTE: Users associated with multiple organizations can switch between Starling subscriptions once they have logged in (Managing multiple Starling organizations).

    NOTE: Until an invite has been accepted, the following options are available:

    • Resend Invitation: Selecting this option will resend the invitation.
    • Cancel Invitation: Selecting this option will cancel the invitation. The invited user will not be notified that the invitation was canceled; however, when logging in they will be unable to access the service.

Editing roles

The following procedure explains how to edit a collaborator's assigned roles.

NOTE: Administrators require a secondary approval from another Administrator or Primary Administrator before their changes will take effect.

To edit roles for a collaborator

NOTE: It can take up to 15 minutes for changes to take effect for currently logged in users.

  1. On the Collaborators page, locate the collaborator whose role you want to edit.
  2. Once you have located the collaborator to edit, click the button associated with their account.

  3. Select Edit Role.
  4. In the Edit Role dialog, make any necessary changes.

  5. Click Save to save your changes and return to the Collaborators page.
Related Documents