Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Current - Administration Guide

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Getting started Collaborators Users Approvals Integrations Hardware Tokens Settings Downloads

Introduction to Users

Once a client product joins with Starling Two-Factor Authentication, users are automatically added to the Users page as they authenticate via the client product. From this page you can view and manage the users currently associated with the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service.

Users page

The Users page is displayed when Users is clicked in the navigation bar. The Users page is used for managing the users currently associated with the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service.

The following buttons appear at the top of this page:

Add

Clicking this button opens the Add User dialog so you can add new users to your Starling Two-Factor Authentication service without waiting for them to authenticate via your client product. However, there is no way to sync unique users added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication with the client product and they will be unable to authenticate if they are not also in the client product. This means you must ensure any users manually added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication are identical to existing users within your client product. For more information, see Adding additional users.

Import Users

Clicking this button opens the Import Users dialog so you can add multiple users at the same time using a CSV file. However, there is no way to sync unique users added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication with the client product and they will be unable to authenticate if they are not also in the client product. This means you must ensure any users manually added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication are identical to existing users within your client product. For more information, see Importing users with a CSV file.

Delete

Activated once one or more users are selected in the table, you can delete the selected user from the table by clicking this button. There is a 30 day window to restore the account from the Users page after a user has been deleted. If a user marked for deletion authenticates during those 30 days then they will be restored automatically while also pulling in any updated user data, and if the user does not authenticate after being marked for deletion then they will be deleted and no longer count towards your consumed licenses. For more information, see Deleting users.

Disable

Activated once one or more user accounts are selected in the table, clicking this button disables the user account so that it cannot be used nor will it be counted towards your consumed licenses. For more information, see Disabling a user account.

Enable

Activated once one or more disabled user accounts are selected in the table, clicking this button enables a previously disabled user account so that it can be used and will be counted towards your consumed licenses. For more information, see Enabling a user account.

Restore

Activated once one or more users marked for deletion are selected in the table, clicking this button restores the user account. For more information, see Restoring users.

Refresh

Clicking this button refreshes the table.

This field is used to search for a user based on their name, email, or mobile number. To use the search functionality, start typing in the field. The table will automatically update to display results that match.

The following information and option appear in the table on this page:

Email

This displays the email address associated with the user.

Name

This displays the name of the user.

Mobile

This displays the mobile number for the user.

Status

This displays the status of the user.

  • Active: This indicates the user is active and counts towards your consumed licenses.
  • Inactive: This indicates a user account has been disabled and thus does not count towards consumed licenses.
  • Pending Removal: This indicates a user account is marked for deletion and thus does not count towards consumed licenses. If the user account is not restored or does not authenticate within 30 days then it will be deleted from Starling Two-Factor Authentication.
Hardware Tokens

This lists the number of hardware tokens assigned to a user. Clicking the link in the field will direct you to a user specific version of the Hardware Tokens page where you can manage tokens for the user. Depending on your collaborator type, the following functionalities are available:

Last Used

This column displays the date the user last successfully authenticated using Starling Two-Factor Authentication.

Clicking the Temporary response link associated with a user, generates a code that can be used by the user if they are unable to authenticate using their configured device. For more information, see Generating a temporary response code for a user.

Managing users

The following sections provide information on managing users for the Starling Two-Factor Authentication service.

NOTE: Once added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication, users can be assigned hardware tokens from the Users page. For more information, see Managing hardware tokens.

Adding additional users

Although your users will be provisioned on-demand when joining Starling Two-Factor Authentication, you do have the option of manually adding users. However, there is no way to sync unique users with the client product and they will be unable to authenticate through Starling Two-Factor Authentication if they are not also in the client product. This means you must ensure any users manually added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication are identical to existing users within your client product.

To add additional users

CAUTION: Client products not using hardware tokens: It is recommended that you allow users to be provisioned on-demand to ensure they correctly sync up between the client product and Starling Two-Factor Authentication.

Client products using hardware tokens: Because you need to have a hardware token assigned to a user prior to their first authentication attempt with the hardware token, you need to manually add new users to Starling Two-Factor Authentication and assign a token to them. These users must be identical to a user in the client product in order to recognize the user when they first authenticate. If they are not identical then they will be unable to authenticate until the mismatched user records are corrected and the hardware token assigned to the correct record.

  1. On the Users page, click Add.
  2. In the Add User dialog, enter the email, name (optional), country (this assigns the country code for the mobile number), and mobile number of the user you would like to add.

    CAUTION: If the phone number for a manually added user already exists but with a different name or email, then the name and email for the user will be updated. If the same phone number is used in multiple subscriptions then all subscriptions will be updated accordingly.

  3. Click Save.

    Once a user has been added, a new token will appear in their Starling 2FA app. If the user has not been provisioned in any Starling Two-Factor Authentication subscription and the General Settings tab option to send SMS is enabled, the new user will also receive instructions on installing the Starling 2FA app.

Related Documents