Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Current - Administration Guide

Starling Two-Factor Authentication Getting started Collaborators Users Approvals Integrations Hardware Tokens Settings Downloads

Importing users with a CSV file

Although your users will be provisioned on-demand when joining Starling Two-Factor Authentication, you do have the option of manually adding users. However, there is no way to sync unique users with the client product and they will be unable to authenticate through Starling Two-Factor Authentication if they are not also in the client product. This means you must ensure any users manually added to Starling Two-Factor Authentication are identical to existing users within your client product.

To import users with a CSV file

CAUTION: Client products not using hardware tokens: It is recommended that you allow users to be provisioned on-demand to ensure they correctly sync up between the client product and Starling Two-Factor Authentication.

Client products using hardware tokens: Because you need to have a hardware token assigned to a user prior to their first authentication attempt with the hardware token, you need to manually add new users to Starling Two-Factor Authentication and assign a token to them. These users must be identical to a user in the client product in order to recognize the user when they first authenticate. If they are not identical then they will be unable to authenticate until the mismatched records are corrected and the hardware token assigned to the correct record.

  1. On the Users page, click Import.
  2. In the Import Users dialog, click Choose file.
  3. Select a CSV file containing information on each of the users to be added. The file must have a phone number (<+1 1234567>, +1 is used if no country code is specified) and email (<email@domain>). A display name (<First Last>) is optional.
  4. Click Open.
  5. In the Import Hardware Tokens dialog, click Next.

  6. Select the check box associated with the user or users to be imported. Any issues found with users identified in the file will be indicated by a icon. Hover over the icon for more information as to why the user was not imported.

    CAUTION: If the phone number for a manually added user already exists but with a different name or email, then the name and email for the user will be updated. If the same phone number is used in multiple subscriptions then all subscriptions will be updated accordingly.

  7. Click Import Users. Each successfully imported user will appear listed on the Users page.

    Once a user has been added, a new token will appear in their Starling 2FA app. If the user has not been provisioned in any Starling Two-Factor Authentication subscription and the General Settings tab option to send SMS is enabled, the new user will also receive instructions on installing the Starling 2FA app.

Deleting users

In cases where you have licensed users that are not using the product, users can be marked for deletion within Starling Two-Factor Authentication and given a window of 30 days before being deleted. If a user marked for deletion authenticates during those 30 days then they will be restored automatically while also pulling in any updated user data, and if the user does not authenticate after being marked for deletion then they will be deleted and no longer count towards your consumed licenses

To delete a user

  1. In the table on the Users page, select the check box associated with each user to be deleted.
  2. Click Delete.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes.

    The users will be marked for deletion. Unless a user is restored or authenticates within 30 days, they will be deleted from Starling Two-Factor Authentication.

Restoring users

The following procedures explain how to manually restore users that have been marked for deletion.

To restore a user

  1. In the table on the Users page, select the check box associated with each user to be restored.
  2. Click Restore.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes.

    The user will be restored to the state they were prior to being marked for deletion.

Disabling a user account

You can temporarily stop a user from being able to access protected applications by disabling the account from the Users page.

To disable a user account

  1. In the table on the Users page, select the check box associated with each user account to be disabled.
  2. Click Disable.
  3. In the confirmation dialog, click Yes.

    The user will be unable to access protected applications until they have been re-enabled. For more information, see Enabling a user account.

Related Documents