Chat now with support
Chat mit Support

Identity Manager 8.1.3 - Administration Guide for Connecting to LDAP

Managing LDAP environments Synchronizing LDAP directories
Setting up initial LDAP directory synchronization Customizing the synchronization configuration Executing synchronization Tasks after a synchronization Troubleshooting
Basic configuration data LDAP domains LDAP user accounts LDAP groups LDAP container structures LDAP computers Reports about LDAP objects Configuration parameters for managing an LDAP environment Default project template for LDAP Generic LDAP connector settings

Tasks after a synchronization

After the synchronization of data from the target system into the One Identity Manager database, rework may be necessary. Check the following tasks:

Post-processing outstanding objects

Objects, which do not exist in the target system, can be marked as outstanding in One Identity Manager by synchronizing. This prevents objects being deleted because of an incorrect data situation or an incorrect synchronization configuration.

Outstanding objects:

  • Cannot be edited in One Identity Manager.

  • Are ignored by subsequent synchronizations.

  • Are ignored by inheritance calculations.

This means, all memberships and assignments remain intact until the outstanding objects have been processed.

Start target system synchronization to do this.

To post-process outstanding objects

  1. In the Manager, select the LDAP | Target system synchronization: LDAP category.

    All the synchronization tables assigned to the LDAP target system type are displayed in the navigation view.

  2. On the Target system synchronization form, in the Table / object column, open the node of the table for which you want to post-process outstanding objects.

    All objects that are marked as outstanding are shown. The Last log entry and Last method run columns display the time at which the last entry was made in the synchronization log and which processing method was executed. The No log available entry can mean the following:

    • The synchronization log has already been deleted.

      - OR -

    • An assignment from a member list has been deleted from the target system.

      The base object of the assignment was updated during the synchronization. A corresponding entry appears in the synchronization log. The entry in the assignment table is marked as outstanding, but there is no entry in the synchronization log.

    • An object that contains a member list has been deleted from the target system.

      During synchronization, the object and all corresponding entries in the assignment tables are marked as outstanding. However, an entry in the synchronization log appears only for the deleted object.

    TIP:

    To display object properties of an outstanding object

    1. Select the object on the target system synchronization form.
    2. Open the context menu and click Show object.
  1. Select the objects you want to rework. Multi-select is possible.

  2. Click on one of the following icons in the form toolbar to execute the respective method.

    Table 10: Methods for handling outstanding objects

    Icon

    Method

    Description

    Delete

    The object is immediately deleted from the One Identity Manager database. Deferred deletion is not taken into account. The Outstanding label is removed from the object.

    Indirect memberships cannot be deleted.

    Publish

    The object is added to the target system. The Outstanding label is removed from the object.

    The method triggers the HandleOutstanding event. This runs a target system specific process that triggers the provisioning process for the object.

    Prerequisites:

    • The table containing the object can be published.

    • The target system connector has write access to the target system.

    Reset

    The Outstanding label is removed for the object.

  3. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

NOTE: By default, the selected objects are processed in parallel, which speeds up execution of the selected method. If an error occurs during processing, the action is stopped and all changes are discarded.

Bulk processing of objects must be disabled if errors are to be localized, which means the objects are processed sequentially. Failed objects are named in the error message. All changes that were made up until the error occurred are saved.

To disable bulk processing

  • In the form's toolbar, click to disable bulk processing.

You must customize your target system synchronization to synchronize custom tables.

To add custom tables to target system synchronization

  1. In the Manager, select the LDAP | Basic configuration data | Target system types category.

  2. In the result list, select the LDAP target system type.

  3. Select the Assign synchronization tables task.

  4. In the Add assignments pane, assign custom tables to the outstanding objects you want to handle.

  5. Save the changes.
  6. Select the Configure tables for publishing task.

  7. Select the custom tables that contain the outstanding objects that can be published in the target system and set the Publishable option.

  8. Save the changes.
NOTE: The target system connector must have write access to the target system in order to publish outstanding objects that are being post-processed. That means, the Connection is read-only option must not be set for the target system connection.

Adding custom tables to the target system synchronization

You must customize your target system synchronization to synchronize custom tables.

To add custom tables to target system synchronization

  1. In the Manager, select the LDAP | Basic configuration data | Target system types category.

  2. In the result list, select the LDAP target system type.

  3. Select the Assign synchronization tables task.

  4. In the Add assignments pane, assign custom tables to the outstanding objects you want to handle.

  5. Save the changes.
  6. Select the Configure tables for publishing task.

  7. Select the custom tables that contain the outstanding objects that can be published in the target system and set the Publishable option.

  8. Save the changes.
Related topics

Managing LDAP user accounts through account definitions

Following a synchronization, employees are automatically created for the user accounts in the default installation. If an account definition for the domain is not yet known at the time of synchronization, user accounts are linked with employees. However, account definitions are not assigned. The user accounts are therefore in a Linked state.

To manage the user accounts using account definitions, assign an account definition and a manage level to these user accounts.

Detailed information about this topic
Verwandte Dokumente