Tchater maintenant avec le support
Tchattez avec un ingénieur du support

One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 2.11 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements Using the virtual appliance and web management console Using the cloud Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time Search box Using the web client Installing the desktop client Using the desktop client Privileged access requests Toolbox Accounts Account Groups Assets Asset Groups Discovery Entitlements Partitions Settings
Access Request settings Appliance settings Asset Management settings Backup and Retention settings Certificate settings Cluster settings External Integration settings Messaging settings Profile settings Safeguard Access settings Sessions settings
Users User Groups Disaster recovery and clusters Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions Appendix A: Safeguard ports Appendix B: SPP 2.7 or later migration guidance Appendix C: SPP and SPS join guidance Appendix D: Regular Expressions Appendix E: Historical changes by release Glossary

Restarting the appliance

Use the Power controls on the Administrative Tools view in the Windows desktop client to restart an appliance.

To restart the appliance

  1. Go to Appliance Information:
    • From the web client, click  Settings on the left. The Settings: Appliance page displays. Click Appliance Information .
    • From the desktop client, navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Appliance Information.
  2. Type an explanation for restarting the Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance in the Reason box and click Restart.
  3. To confirm your action, enter the word Restart in the box and click OK.
  4. The One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 2000 Appliance LCD screen displays the run level status of the appliance as it is starting up. For more information, see LCD status messages.

Enable or Disable Services

The Appliance Administrator can enable or disable services using toggles. The toggle appears blue with the switch to the right ( toggle on) when the service is enabled, and gray with the switch to the left when the service is disabled ( toggle off).

Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Enable or Disable Services.

  • Application to Application Enabled toggle: Use this toggle to enable or disable Application to Application service. It is the responsibility of the Appliance Administrator to manage the Application to Application service. The Application to Application service is disabled by default. For more information, see Application to Application .
  • Audit Enabled toggle: Use this toggle to send Safeguard for Privileged Passwords data to Safeguard for Privileged Sessions (SPS) to audit the Safeguard privileged management software suite. The feature is disabled by default.

    NOTE: This feature is not fully functional until a future release of Safeguard for Privileged Sessions is available.

Factory Reset from the desktop client

As an Appliance Administrator, you can use the Factory Reset feature to reset a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against a physical appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

Factory reset on a clustered appliance

Performing a factory reset on a clustered hardware appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. The recommended best practice is to unjoin an appliance from the cluster before performing a factory reset on the appliance. After the unjoin and factory reset, the appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

To perform a factory reset from the desktop client

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Factory Reset.
  2. Click Factory Reset.
  3. In the Factory Reset confirmation dialog, enter the words Factory Reset and click OK.

    The appliance will go into Maintenance mode to revert the appliance. Once completed, you will be prompted to restart the desktop client. If the appliance was in a cluster, you may need to unjoin the factory reset appliance. The factory reset appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time. In addition, when you log in to the appliance, you will be prompted to add your Safeguard for Privileged Passwords licenses.

Licensing

It is the responsibility of the Appliance Administrator to manage the Safeguard for Privileged Passwords licenses. For more information, see Product licensing.To avoid disruptions in the use of Safeguard for Privileged Passwords, the Appliance Administrator must configure the SMTP server, and define email templates for the License Expired and the License Expiring Soon event types. This ensures you will be notified of an approaching expiration date. For more information, see Enabling email notifications.

To enter licensing information when you first log in

The first time you log in as the Appliance Administrator, you are prompted to add one or more licenses. The Success dialog displays when a license is added.

On the virtual appliance, the license is added as part of Initial Setup. For more information, see Setting up the virtual appliance.

To add new licenses from Settings

  1. Go to Licensing:
    • From the web client, click Settings on the left. The Settings: Appliance page displays. Click Licensing .
    • From the desktop client, navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Licensing.
  2. Click to upload a new license file.
  3. Browse to select the license file.

    Once you add a license, you will see the current license information and a link that allows you to update the license.

These tasks can also be performed from Licensing:

  • To add another module license, click Add License and complete the information.
  • To delete a license, select the license, then click Delete.

(desktop client) To update a module license

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Licensing.
  2. Select Update License in the lower left corner of a module's licensing information pane.
  3. Browse to select the license file. Select Open.

Documents connexes