To view a list of objects that were deleted from a particular Organizational Unit (OU) or Managed Unit (MU), you can use the View or Restore Deleted Objects command. The command opens a page that lists the deleted objects that were direct children of the corresponding OU or MU at the time of deletion.
To view a list of objects that were deleted from a particular OU or MU
The Web Interface lists the objects that were deleted from the OU or MU you selected. The list can be sorted or filtered as appropriate to locate particular objects (see Managing the list of objects earlier in this document).
|NOTE: The View or Restore Deleted Objects command is also available on domain and container objects.|
You can restore deleted objects by using the Restore command that is available in the Command pane when you select a deleted object in the Web Interface.
To restore a deleted object
The Restore Object dialog box prompts you to choose whether the deleted child objects (descendants) of the deleted object should also be restored. The Restore child objects check box is selected by default, which ensures that the Restore command applied on a deleted container restores the entire contents of the container.
|NOTE: When restoring a deleted object, ensure that its parent object is not deleted. You can identify the parent object by viewing properties of the deleted object: the canonical name of the parent object, preceded with the “Deleted from:” label, is displayed beneath the name of the deleted object on the property page for that object. If the parent object is deleted, you need to restore it prior to restoring its children because deleted objects must be restored to a live parent.|
The approval workflow system included with Active Roles provides:
The Approval area provides a way to perform change approval actions, allowing you to control changes to directory data that require your approval and monitor your operations that require approval by other persons. You can use the Approval area to:
When a Web Interface user makes changes to directory data that require permission from other individuals in an organization, the changes are not applied immediately. Instead, an operation is initiated and submitted for approval. This starts a workflow that coordinates the approvals needed to complete the operation. The operation is performed and the requested changes are applied only after approval. An operation may require approval from one person or from multiple persons.
When an operation is submitted for approval, Active Roles tracks the initiator and the approver or approvers. The initiator is the person who requested the changes. Approvers are those who are authorized to allow or deny the changes. An operation that requires approval generates one or more approval tasks, with each approval task assigned to the appropriate approver. Active Roles administrators configure approval workflow by creating approval rules to specify what changes require approval and who is authorized to approve or deny change requests.
In the Approval area, you can work with the operations for which you are assigned to the approver role. As an approver, you are expected to take appropriate actions on your approval tasks.
To access the Approval area