Active Roles 7.3.1 - User Guide

Introduction Getting Started User or Service Account Management Group Management Computer Account Management Organizational Unit Management Management of Contacts Management of Exchange Recipients

Disabling and enabling a computer account

Disabling and enabling a computer account

A computer account can be disabled as a security measure to prevent users from logging on to the computer, instead of deleting the computer account.

To disable a computer account, right-click the account and click Disable Account. To enable a computer account, right-click the account and click Enable Account. The Enable Account command only appears on disabled accounts. Disabled computer accounts are marked with the following icon:

Steps for disabling a computer account

Steps for disabling a computer account

To disable a computer account

  1. In the console tree, locate and select the folder that contains the computer account.
  2. In the details pane, right-click the computer account and click Disable Account.

NOTE:

  • When you disable a computer account, the computer cannot authenticate to the domain until the account has been enabled.
  • The Disable Account command is displayed if the account is enabled; otherwise, the Enable Account command is displayed on the menu. By using the Enable Account command you can change the status of the disabled account.

Steps for enabling a disabled computer account

Steps for enabling a disabled computer account

To enable a disabled computer account

  1. In the console tree, locate and select the folder that contains the computer account.
  2. In the details pane, right-click the computer account and click Enable Account.

NOTE: The Enable Account command is displayed if the account is disabled; otherwise, the Disable Account command is displayed on the menu.

Resetting a computer account

Resetting a computer account

A computer account is normally reset if the computer has been taken offline and completely reinstalled. Resetting the account allows the (rebuilt) computer to rejoin the domain using the same name. If the computer account is reset whenever the computer has not been reinstalled, the computer cannot authenticate in the domain.

To reset a computer account, right-click the account, and click Reset Account. This command resets the computer account password. The Reset Account command is not available on domain controller accounts: resetting the password for domain controllers using this method is not allowed.

Related Documents