Active Roles 7.3.1 - Web Interface Administrator Guide

Introduction Deploying the Web Interface Getting Started Web Interface Basics Performing Management Tasks Using Approval Workflow Customizing the Web Interface Default Commands

Deleting a command from a menu

Deleting a command from a menu

By default, the Container menu includes the New Shared Folder command. After you complete the following steps, the menu no longer includes the New Shared Folder command.

To delete the command from the menu for Container object type

  1. Open your Web browser and connect to the Web Interface for Administrators.
  2. On the Navigation bar, expand Customization and then click Directory Objects.
  3. In the Menu for column, click Container.
  4. In the list of commands, select the check box next to the New Shared Folder command.
  5. On the toolbar, click Delete. Then, click OK to confirm the deletion.
  6. Click Reload to publish your changes.

Adding an entry to a form

Adding an entry to a form

By default, the forms for user account creation do not include a box where you could specify the user’s telephone number. After you complete the following steps, a new box—Telephone number—is added to the form for user account creation. When you fill in that box, the number is saved in the user account.

To add the entry to the form for user account creation

  1. Open your Web browser and connect to the Web Interface for Administrators.
  2. On the Navigation bar, expand Customization and then click Directory Objects.
  3. In the Menu column, click Container.

    When you modify the New User command on the Container menu, the command is also modified on the Domain and Organizational Unit menus.

  1. In the list of commands, click New User.
  2. In the right pane, click Edit Form.
  3. In the Form Editor, click the General tab.
  4. On the toolbar in the Form Editor, point to Add Entry and click Create.
  5. In the Property list, click Telephone Number.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Specify Telephone number as the entry name.
  8. Click Finish.
  9. Click Reload to publish your changes.

Global settings

Global settings

Customization of the Web interface includes the global settings that control the display of the Web Interface pages for all users. There are several areas of the Web Interface site where global settings are used by default. Some of these settings can be overridden by Web Interface users, whereas the others can only be viewed or changed by administrators.

The following settings are applied for all Web Interface users and can only be changed by Active Roles administrators:

  • Logo image  Use this option to replace the default logo image with a custom logo image on the Web Interface pages (see Customizing the logo image).
  • Web Interface site icon  Use this option to change the site icon, also known as favicon, that identifies the Web Interface site in the Web browser’s address bar (see Customizing the Web Interface site icon).
  • Hide path to object  Select this check box to prevent the path to the current container ts from being displayed on the Web Interface pages.

    This option may be helpful in environments where Managed Units rather than Organizational Units are used to delegate administrative tasks.

  • Logged-on user name format  View or change the property used for the presentation of the Web Interface user (see Customizing the name of the Web Interface user).
  • Color scheme  Use the options in this area to customize the appearance of the Web Interface pages by configuring a custom color scheme. You can choose from the following options:
    • Default  Applies the color scheme that is included with the Web Interface out of the box.
    • Custom  Allows you to select the base color for your custom color scheme and specify the amount of color you want on the Web Interface pages.

If the administrator changes any of the above settings, the new settings affect any user who connects to the Web Interface site after the changes are applied.

The following settings are applied for all Web Interface users by default, and can be overridden on a per-user basis (a Web Interface user can choose different settings without affecting the other users):

  • User interface language  Choose the language for the Web Interface pages. Your selection determines the language of menus and dialogs, messages, and help pages.
  • Maximum number of objects to display in search results  Specify the maximum number of objects that can be displayed in single-page lists, such as lists of search results or lists that show contents of containers. Use this option carefully as displaying a large number of objects may cause performance degradation.
  • Number of items to display per page in paged lists  Specify the maximum number of list items that can be displayed on a single page in multi-page lists. This setting affects only the lists, such as lists of approval tasks, that are divided into pages, causing each page to display no more items than specified.
  • Number of page links to display for paged lists  Specify the maximum number of links to pages that can be displayed for multi-page lists. This setting affects only the lists, such as lists of approval tasks, that are divided into pages, allowing the user to page through list items by clicking page numbers beneath the list. This setting specifies how many page numbers are to be shown.

If the administrator changes any of the above settings, the new settings normally affect the users who connect to the Web Interface site for the first time. The changes to the global settings of this category do not affect the Web Interface users whose user profiles already contain user-specific, personal settings of the same category. For example, if a user has already selected the preferred language, changing the user interface language in Global Settings has no effect on that user.

To view or modify global settings

  1. Log on as Active Roles Admin, and connect to the Web Interface site you want to customize.
  2. On the Navigation bar (on the left side of the Web Interface page), click Customization.
  3. On the Customization page, click Global Settings.
  4. Use the Global Settings page to view or modify the settings.
  5. When finished, click Save.
  6. Click Reload for your changes to take effect for all users of the Web Interface site you are customizing.

Customizing the logo image

Customizing the logo image

The Web Interface allows the administrator to customize the branding for the Web Interface sites by changing parts of the logo image that appears at the top of the Web Interface screen. The default parts of the logo image can be replaced by custom images, such as a company logo or a product logo. Separate images are used to identify the company and the product. The administrator can specify the desired image by selecting an appropriate graphic file. The supported file types are JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg file name extension), GIF, and PNG.

It is also possible to customize the hyperlinks on the parts of the logo image. Separate hyperlinks are available on the company logo and the product logo. Thus, the hyperlink on the company logo could be configured to navigate to the corporate Web site whereas the hyperlink on the product logo could open a custom page with instructions on how to use the product.

To view or modify the logo image settings

  1. Open the Web Interface site in your Web browser, click Customization on the Navigation bar, and then click Global Settings.
  2. In the Product logo image area, view or change the image that is used to identify the product:
    • To use a different image, click Change and select a graphic file containing the image you want.
    • To revert to the standard image, click Restore Default.
  3. In the Hyperlink on the product logo image area, view or change the address (URL) of the Web page that opens when the user clicks the product logo image:
    • To use a different address, type the address in the edit box.
    • To remove the hyperlink from the product logo image, clear the edit box.
    • To revert to the standard address, click Restore Default.
  4. In the Company logo image area, view or change the image that is used to identify the company:
    • To use a different image, click Change and select a graphic file containing the image you want.
    • To revert to the standard image, click Restore Default.
  5. In the Hyperlink on the company logo image area, view or change the address (URL) of the Web page that opens when the user clicks the company logo image:
    • To use a different address, type the address in the edit box.
    • To remove the hyperlink from the company logo image, clear the edit box.
    • To revert to the standard address, click Restore Default.
  6. Click Save.
  7. Click Reload to publish your changes.
Related Documents