Chat now with support
Chat with Support

One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 2.9 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements Using the virtual appliance and web management console Installing the desktop client Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time The console Navigation pane Privileged access requests Toolbox Accounts Account Groups Assets Asset Groups Discovery Entitlements Partitions Settings
Access Request settings Appliance settings Asset Management settings Backup and Retention settings Certificate settings Cluster settings External Integration settings Messaging settings Profile settings Safeguard Access settings Sessions settings
Users User Groups Disaster recovery and clusters Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions Appendix A: Safeguard ports Appendix B: SPP 2.7 or later migration guidance Appendix C: SPP and SPS join guidance Appendix D: Historical changes by release Glossary

Resetting a cluster that has lost consensus

Resetting the cluster configuration allows you to recover a cluster that has lost consensus. If the cluster regains consensus after connectivity is restored, the primary will return to Read-Write mode and password check and change will be re-enabled. However, if it does not regain consensus, the Appliance Administrator must perform a cluster reset to force-remove nodes from the cluster.

If you are concerned about network issues, reset the cluster with only the new primary appliance. Once the cluster reset operation is complete, enroll appliances one by one to create a new cluster.

Caution: Resetting a cluster should be your last resort. It is recommended that you restore from a backup rather than reset a cluster.

IMPORTANT: Only reset the cluster if you are certain that consensus has been lost; otherwise, you could introduce a split-brain scenario. (Split-brain scenario is where a cluster gets divided into smaller clusters. Each of these smaller clusters believes it is the only active cluster and may then access the same data which could lead to data corruption.)

To reset a cluster

  1. In Settings, select Cluster.
  2. Click the Reset Cluster button.

    The Reset Cluster dialog displays listing the appliances (primary and replicas) in the cluster.

  3. In the Reset Cluster dialog, select the nodes to be included in the reset operation and use the Set Primary button to designate the primary appliance in the cluster.

    NOTE: Nodes must have an appliance state of Online or Online Read-only and be able to communicate to be included in the reset operation. If you select a node that is not online or not available, you will get an error and the reset operation will fail.

  4. Click Reset Cluster.
  5. In the confirmation dialog, enter the words Reset Cluster and click OK.

    When connected to the new primary appliance, the Configuring Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance progress page displays showing the steps being performed as part of the maintenance task to reset the cluster.

  6. Once the maintenance tasks have completed, click Restart Desktop Client.
  7. If an appliance is cluster reset as a standalone appliance, it will be placed in StandaloneReadonly mode (not online) and will require activation to avoid a split-brain scenario. For more information, see Activating a read-only appliance.

Once reset, the cluster only contains the appliances that were included in the reset operation.

Performing a factory reset

As an Appliance Administrator, you can use the Factory Reset feature to reset a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords Appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance. A factory reset of a physical appliance may be initiated from the Appliance Information settings page in the desktop client, from the recovery kiosk, from the virtual appliance Support Kiosk, or using the API.

A Safeguard for Privileged Passwords virtual appliance is reset by the recovery steps to redeploy and not a factory reset. For more information, see Virtual appliance backup and recovery.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against a physical appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

Factory reset on a clustered appliance

Performing a factory reset on a clustered hardware appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. The recommended best practice is to unjoin an appliance from the cluster before performing a factory reset on the appliance. After the unjoin and factory reset, the appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

To perform a factory reset from the desktop client

  1. Navigate to Administrative Tools | Settings | Appliance | Factory Reset.
  2. Click Factory Reset.
  3. In the Factory Reset confirmation dialog, enter the words Factory Reset and click OK.

    The appliance will go into Maintenance mode to revert the appliance. Once completed, you will be prompted to restart the desktop client. If the appliance had been in a cluster, you may need to unjoin the factory reset appliance. The factory reset appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time. In addition, when you log into the appliance, you will be prompted to add your Safeguard for Privileged Passwords licenses.

To perform a factory reset from the recovery kiosk or support kiosk

  1. To perform a hardware factory reset, go to the:
    1. Recovery kiosk: For more information, see Recovery kiosk.
    2. Support kiosk: For more information, see Support kiosk.
  2. Select Factory Reset.
  3. Right arrow.
  4. At id, enter your identification and press the Tab key (or down arrow).
  5. At Get Challenge, press the Enter key.

    Safeguard for Privileged Passwords produces a challenge.

  6. Copy and paste the challenge and send it to One Identity Support.

    • A challenge response is only good for 48 hours.
    • Do not navigate away from the page or refresh during a challenge response operation. Doing so will invalidate the challenge response.
  7. When you get the response from One Identity Support, copy and paste the response into the kiosk screen and select Factory Reset.

Unlocking a locked cluster

In order to maintain consistency and stability, only one cluster operation can run at a time. To ensure this, Safeguard for Privileged Passwords locks the cluster while a cluster operation is running, such as enroll, unjoin, failover, patch, reset, and routine maintenance. The Cluster view shows that the cluster is locked and that any changes to the cluster configuration are not allowed until the operation completes. The banner that appears at the top of the screen explains the operation in progress and a red lock icon () next to an appliance indicates that the appliance is locking the cluster.

To unlock a locked cluster

  1. Click the lock icon in the upper right corner of the warning banner.
  2. In the Unlock Cluster confirmation dialog, enter Unlock Cluster and click OK.

    This will release the cluster lock that was placed on all of the appliances in the cluster and terminate the operation.

IMPORTANT: Care should be taken when unlocking a locked cluster. It should only be used when you are sure that one or more appliances in the cluster are offline and will not finish the current operation. If you force the cluster unlock, you may cause instability on an appliance requiring a factory reset and possibly the need to rebuild the cluster. If you are unsure about the operation in progress, do NOT unlock the cluster. Most often, it will eventually time out and unlock on its own.

Troubleshooting tips

If there is a problem with a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords cluster, follow these guidelines:

  1. Ensure that the hardware is powered on and online.
  2. Check for networking problems. For more information, see Diagnosing a cluster member.
  3. Check the events in the Activity Center as all cluster operations are logged. Errors and warnings may resolve on their own. If an error persists for more than 15 minutes it probably won't resolve itself. Try restarting the appliance to see if the error or warning clears.
  4. Contact One Identity Support:
Related Documents