Chat now with support
Chat with Support

We are currently experiencing issues on our phone support and are working diligently to restore services. For support, please sign in and create a case or email supportadmin@quest.com for assistance

Identity Manager 8.2.1 - Target System Synchronization Reference Guide

Target system synchronization with the Synchronization Editor Working with the Synchronization Editor Basics of target system synchronization Setting up synchronization
Starting the Synchronization Editor Creating a synchronization project Configuring synchronization
Setting up mappings Setting up synchronization workflows Connecting systems Editing the scope Using variables and variable sets Setting up start up configurations Setting up base objects
Overview of schema classes Customizing the synchronization configuration Checking the consistency of the synchronization configuration Activating the synchronization project Defining start up sequences
Running synchronization Synchronization analysis Setting up synchronization with default connectors Updating existing synchronization projects Script library for synchronization projects Additional information for experts Troubleshooting errors when connecting target systems Configuration parameters for target system synchronization Configuration file examples

Editing start up sequences

To edit a start up sequenceClosed

  1. In the Synchronization EditorClosed, select the Database > Manage start up sequences menu item.

  2. In the Sequences pane, double-click the start up sequence.

  3. Edit the start up sequence’s main data.

  4. To add a start up configuration to the start up sequence, select the start up configuration and click .

  5. To remove a start up configuration from the start up sequence, select the start up configuration and click .

  6. To edit the start up configuration’s properties, click .

  7. To change the order of the start up configurations, select a start up configuration and click or .

  8. To save the changes, click .

Detailed information about this topic

Deleting start up sequences

To delete a start up sequenceClosed

  1. In the Synchronization EditorClosed, select the Database > Manage start up sequences menu item.
  2. In the Sequences pane, double-click the start up sequence.
  3. In the Included start up information, click .
  4. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

This deletes all instances of the start up sequence.

Related topics

Start up sequence properties

Enter the following properties for a start up sequenceClosed.

Table 68: General start up sequence properties

Property

Description

Name

Name of the start up sequence.

Schedule

Schedule for starting synchronizationClosed.

Ensure that start up configurations that are used in start up sequences are not started individually at the same time. Assign the start up sequence to a schedule that is not used in any of the start up configurations.

Allow multiple starts

Specifies whether this start up sequence can be started more than once. Ensure that no other synchronization is started for the same target system as long as synchronization is running.

Example: A start up sequence is triggered daily. Even if the start up sequence has not ended after 24 hours, it should be started again. If each start up configuration synchronizes another target system, you can set the Allow multiple starts option. If the option is not set, the start up sequence is not restarted until the current instance is finished.

Description

Text field for additional explanation.

You can set the properties of each the selected start up configurations.

Table 69: Start up configuration properties in a start up sequence

Property

Description

Runs simultaneously

Specifies whether this start up configuration can be started at the same time as the previous start up configuration. Use this option to synchronize projectsClosed in parallel that are started from different synchronization servers.

Do not set this option if the start up configurations handle the same target system objects.

Sequence quits on error

Specifies whether the start up sequence is canceled if an error occurs running this start up configuration.

If the option is set, instances of the start up sequence are still displayed in the Synchronization EditorClosed after synchronization has quit.

Example

Shortly after synchronizing personnel planning data from an SAP HCM system, always synchronize the SAP R/3, Active Directory, Privileged Account Management, and Google Workspace systems. Personnel planning data should be synchronized daily.

Even if the start up sequence has not ended after 24 hours, it should be started again.

The target systems SAP R/3, Active Directory, Privileged Account Management, and Google Workspace can be synchronized in parallel. They cannot, however, be started before SAP HCM has finished synchronizing.

The start up sequence contains the following configuration:

  • Schedule: daily
  • Allow multiple starts: set
  • Order of start up configurations:
    1. SAP HCM System

      Runs simultaneously: not set

    2. SAP R/3 client

      Runs simultaneously: not set

    3. Active Directory domain

      Runs simultaneously: set

    4. One Identity Safeguard Appliance

      Runs simultaneously: set

    5. Google Workspace Domain

      Runs simultaneously: set

Detailed information about this topic

Running synchronization

SynchronizationClosed is started using scheduledClosed process plansClosed. It is possible to start synchronization manually in the Synchronization EditorClosed. You can simulate synchronization beforehand to estimate synchronization results and discover errors in the synchronization configuration. If synchronization stopped unexpectedly, you must reset the start information to be able to restart synchronization.

IMPORTANT: As long as a synchronization process is running, you must not start another synchronization process for the same target system. This especially applies, if the same synchronization objects would be processed.

  • If another synchronization process is started with the same start up configuration, the process is stopped and is assigned Frozen status. An error message is written to the One Identity Manager ServiceClosed log file.

    • Ensure that start up configurations that are used in start up sequencesClosed are not started individually at the same time. Assign start up sequences and start up configurations different schedules.

  • Starting another synchronization process with different start up configuration that addresses same target system may lead to synchronization errors or loss of data. Specify One Identity Manager behavior in this case, in the start up configuration.

    • Use the schedule to ensure that the start up configurations are run in sequence.

    • Group start up configurations with the same start up behavior.

If you want to specify the order in which target systems are synchronized, use the start up sequence to run synchronization. In a start up sequence, you can combine start up configurations from different synchronization projectsClosed and specify the order in which they are run.

Detailed information about this topic
Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating