Objects in Active Directorysuch as, for example user accounts, are issued with a unique identification number that is also linked to entitlements.
For domains with functional levels below Windows Server 2008 R2, when user accounts are deleted in Active Directory, the ID and the associated authorizations are irreversibly lost. This makes it difficult to restore user accounts.
For domains from the functional level Windows Server 2008 R2 and above, user accounts can be deleted using the recycling bin. This moves the users to the recycle bin and from where they can be restored within a defined period without loss of IDs or entitlements.
NOTE: When you configure the synchronization project you define whether, when adding or restoring an Active Directory object in , the system should first check if the object is in the Active Directory recycling bin and can be restored.
One Identity Manager uses various methods for deleting user accounts.
Deleting without an Active Directory recycle bin
This method can be applied to all domains that:
Have a functional level below Windows Server 2008 R2 and therefore no recycling bin is available.
- OR -
Have a functional level from Windows Server 2008 R2 and above but the recycling bin is not activated.
After you have confirmed the security alert, the user account is marked for deletion in One Identity Manager. The user account is locked in One Identity Manager and permanently deleted from the One Identity Manager database and the Active Directory depending on the deferred deletion setting.
Deleting with the Active Directory recycle bin
This method is used for domains from the functional level Windows Server 2008 R2, in which the recycling bin is activated.
After you have confirmed the security alert the user account is marked for deletion in the One Identity Manager. The user account is locked in One Identity Manager and is permanently deleted from the One Identity Manager database once the deferred deletion time has expired. In Active Directory, the user account is moved into the recycling bin and is finally deleted from Active Directory once the deferred deletion time has expired. The retention time for objects in the recycling bin is entered in the domain in the Retention period property.