Chat now with support
Chat with Support

One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 2.9 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements Using the virtual appliance and web management console Installing the desktop client Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time The console Navigation pane Privileged access requests Toolbox Accounts Account Groups Assets Asset Groups Discovery Entitlements Partitions Settings
Access Request settings Appliance settings Asset Management settings Backup and Retention settings Certificate settings Cluster settings External Integration settings Messaging settings Profile settings Safeguard Access settings Sessions settings
Users User Groups Disaster recovery and clusters Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions Appendix A: Safeguard ports Appendix B: SPP 2.7 or later migration guidance Appendix C: SPP and SPS join guidance Appendix D: Historical changes by release Glossary

Factory reset from a kiosk

There is a Factory Reset selection in the recovery kiosk and virtual appliance support kiosk. Factory Reset allows you to reset a Safeguard for Privileged Passwords hardware appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against a physical appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

Factory reset on a clustered appliance

Performing a factory reset on a clustered hardware appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. The recommended best practice is to unjoin an appliance from the cluster before performing a factory reset on the appliance. After the unjoin and factory reset, the appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.

To perform a factory reset from the recovery kiosk or support kiosk

  1. To perform a hardware factory reset, go to the:
    1. Recovery kiosk: For more information, see Recovery kiosk.
    2. Support kiosk: For more information, see Support kiosk.
  2. Select Factory Reset.
  3. Right arrow.
  4. At id, enter your identification and press the Tab key (or down arrow).
  5. At Get Challenge, press the Enter key.

    Safeguard for Privileged Passwords produces a challenge.

  6. Copy and paste the challenge and send it to One Identity Support.

    • A challenge response is only good for 48 hours.
    • Do not navigate away from the page or refresh during a challenge response operation. Doing so will invalidate the challenge response.
  7. When you get the response from One Identity Support, copy and paste the response into the kiosk screen and select Factory Reset.

Support bundle

Prior to using the Support Bundlefunction, set up a Windows share where the support bundle is to be sent.

To generate a support bundle

  1. From the recovery kiosk, select the Support Bundle option.
  2. Right arrow.
  3. Select the type of support bundle to be generated:

    • Support Bundle
    • Quarantine Bundle
  4. When prompted, enter the following information:

    • Address: Enter the address of the Windows share (<IP Address>\<ShareName>) where the support bundle is to be saved.
    • User: Enter the user name to be used to access the Windows share.
    • Password: Enter the password associated with the specified user account.

      Note: If you set up the Windows share to allow anonymous access, you will not be prompted to enter a user name or password.

  5. Select Copy to Share. When completed, a message appears stating that a support bundle has been sent to the specified share.

Replica not adding

If you receive a persistent message that says, "An internal request has timed out..." when you attempt to add an appliance to a cluster, ensure that the appliance is at the same version of Safeguard for Privileged Passwords as the primary. All members of a cluster must be the same.

System services did not update or restart after password change

If the system services do not update or restart after an automatic password change, first check your audit logs in the Activity Center.

Note: You can also check the Support Bundle logs.

If the audit logs do not adequately explain the problem, then check the options on the Change password tab of the profile that governs the service account. For more information, see Creating a partition profile.

For service accounts that run system services or scheduled system tasks, verify the options on the profile's Change password tab that enable or disable automatic service update, or restart. You must update the Change Password Setting to change these options. For more information, see Change Password.

Related Documents