Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Identity Manager 8.0 - Administration Guide for Connecting to SharePoint

Managing SharePoint Environments Setting Up SharePoint Farm Synchronization Basic Data for Managing SharePoint SharePoint Farms SharePoint Web Applications SharePointSite Collections and Sites SharePoint User Accounts SharePoint Roles and Groups
SharePoint Groups SharePoint Roles and Permission Levels
Permissions for SharePoint Web Applications Reports about SharePoint Site Collections Appendix: Configuration Parameters for Managing SharePoint Appendix: Default Project Template for SharePoint

Configuring Synchronization of Several SharePoint Farms

Configuring Synchronization of Several SharePoint Farms

Prerequisites

  • The target system schema of both farms are identical.
  • All virtual schema properties used in the mapping must exist in the extended schema of both farms.

To customize a synchronization project for synchronizing another farm

  1. Install and configure a synchronization server for the other farm. Declare this server as Job serverClosed in the One Identity Manager.
  2. Prepare a user account with sufficient permissions for synchronizing in the other farm.
  3. Synchronize the Active Directory or LDAP environment, the other farm is going to run on.
  4. Start the Synchronization EditorClosed on the synchronization server of the other farm and log in on the One Identity Manager database.
  5. Open the synchronization project.
  1. Create a new base object for the other farm. Use the wizards to attach a base object.
    • Select the SharePoint connector in the wizard and enter the connection parameters. The connection parameters are saved in a special variable set.

      A start up configuration is created, which uses the new variable set.

  2. Change other elements of the synchronization configuration as required.
  3. Save the changes.
  4. Run a consistency check.

Detailed information about this topic

Updating Schemas

Updating Schemas

All the schema data (schema types and schema properties) of the target system schema and the One Identity Manager schema are available when you are editing a synchronization project. Only a part of this data is really needed for configuring synchronization. If a synchronization project is finished, the schema is compressed to remove unnecessary data from the synchronization project. This can speed up loading the synchronization project. Deleted schema data can be added to the synchronization configuration again at a later point.

If the target system schema or the One Identity Manager schema has changed, these changes must also be added to the synchronization configuration. Then the changes can be added to the schema property mapping.

To include schema data that have been deleted through compressing and schema modifications in the synchronization project, update each schema in the synchronization project. This may be necessary if:

  • A schema was changed by:
    • Changes to a target system schema
    • Customizations to the One Identity Manager schema
    • A One Identity Manager update migration
  • A schema in the synchronization project was shrunk by:
    • Activating the synchronization project
    • Synchronization projectClosed initial save
    • Compressing a schema

To update a system connection schema

  1. Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization EditorClosed.

  2. Select the category Configuration | Target system.

    - OR -

    Select the category

    Configuration | One Identity Manager connection.

  3. Select the view General and click Update schema.
  4. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

    This reloads the schema data.

To edit a mapping

  1. Open the synchronization project in the SynchronizationClosed Editor.

  2. Select the category Mappings.
  3. Select a mapping in the navigation view.

    Opens the MappingClosed Editor. For more detailed information about editing mappings, see One Identity Manager Target SystemClosed Synchronization Reference Guide.

NOTE: The synchronization is deactivated if the schema of an activated synchronization project is updated. Reactivate the synchronization project to synchronize.

Speeding Up Synchronization with Revision Filtering

Speeding Up Synchronization with Revision Filtering

SynchronizationClosed with SharePoint does not support revision filtering.

Post-Processing Outstanding Objects

Post-Processing Outstanding Objects

Objects, which do not exist in the target system, can be marked as outstanding in One Identity Manager by synchronizing. This prevents objects being deleted because of an incorrect data situation or an incorrect synchronization configuration.

Objects marked as outstanding:

  • Cannot be edited in One Identity Manager.
  • Are ignored by subsequent synchronization.
  • Must be post-processed separately in One Identity Manager.

Start target system synchronization to do this.

To post-process outstanding objects

  1. Select the category SharePoint | Target system synchronization: SharePoint.

    All tables assigned to the target system type SharePoint as synchronization tables are displayed in the navigation view.

  1. Select the table whose outstanding objects you want to edit in the navigation view.

    This opens the target system synchronization form. All objects are shown here that are marked as outstanding.

    TIP:

    To display object properties of an outstanding object

    1. Select the object on the target system synchronization form.
    2. Open the context menu and click Show object.
  1. Select the objects you want to rework. Multi-select is possible.
  2. Click one of the following icons in the form toolbar to execute the respective method.
    Table 8: Methods for handling outstanding objects

    Icon

    Method

    Description

    Delete

    The object is immediately deleted in the One Identity Manager. Deferred deletion is not taken into account. The "outstanding" label is removed from the object.

    Indirect memberships cannot be deleted.

    Publish

    The object is added in the target system. The "outstanding" label is removed from the object.

    The method triggers the event "HandleOutstanding". This runs a target system specific process that triggers the provisioning process for the object.

    Prerequisites:

    • The table containing the object can be published.
    • The target system connector has write access to the target system.

    Reset

    The "outstanding" label is removed from the object.

  3. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

NOTE: By default, the selected objects are processed in parallel, which speeds up execution of the selected method. If an error occurs during processing, the action is stopped and all changes are discarded.

Bulk processing of objects must be disabled if errors are to be localized, which means the objects are processed sequentially. Failed objects are named in the error message. All changes that were made up until the error occurred are saved.

To disable bulk processing

  • Deactivate in the form toolbar.

You must customize synchronization to synchronize custom tables.

To add custom tables to the target system synchronization.

  1. Select the category SharePoint | Basic configuration data | Target system types.
  2. Select the target system type SharePoint in the result list.
  3. Select Assign synchronization tables in the task view.
  4. Assign custom tables whose outstanding objects you want to handle in Add assignments.
  5. Save the changes.
  6. Select Configure tables for publishing.
  7. Select custom tables whose outstanding objects can be published in the target system and set the option Publishable.
  8. Save the changes.

NOTE: The target system connector must have write access to the target system in order to publish outstanding objects that are being post-processed. That means, the option Connection is read only must no be set for the target system connection.
Related Documents