Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Identity Manager 8.0 - Target System Synchronization Reference Guide

Target Synchronization with the Synchronization Editor Basics of Target System Synchronization Setting up Synchronization
Starting the Synchronization Editor Creating a Synchronization Project How to Configure Synchronization
Setting Up Mappings Setting up Synchronization Workflows Connecting Systems Editing the Scope Using Variables and Variable Sets Setting up Start up Configurations Setting up Base Objects
Overview of schema Classes Customizing Synchronization Configuration Checking Synchronization Configuration Consistency Activating the Synchronization Project
Running Synchronization Synchronization Analysis Setting up Synchronization with Default Connectors Updating Existing Synchronization Projects Additional Information for Experts Error Handling Appendix: Example of a Configuration File

Configuring the Synchronization Log

Configuring the Synchronization Log

Table 56: Configuration Parameters for Configuring SynchronizationClosed Logs
Configuration parameter Meaning
DPR\Journal\LifeTime This configuration parameter specifies the synchronization log's retention period (in days). Use the configuration sub parameters to specify the retention period for each warning level. Older logs are deleted from the database.

All the information, tips, warnings and errors which occur during synchronization are recorded in the synchronization log. You can configure the type of information to record separately for each system connection.

To configure the content of the synchronization log

  1. Edit the system connection properties.

    For more information, see How to Edit System Connection Properties.

  2. Select the Synchronization log view and set Create synchronization log.
  3. Enable the data to be logged.

    NOTE: Certain content create a lot of log data.

    The synchronization log should only contain the data necessary for error analysis and other evaluations.

  4. Click OK.

Synchronization logs are stored for a fixed length of time. The retention period is set in the configuration parameter "DPR\Journal\LifeTime" and its sub parameters.

To modify the retention period for synchronization logs

  • Set the configuration parameter "Common\Journal\LifeTime" in the Designer and enter the maximum retention time for entries in the database journal. Use the configuration sub parameters to specify the retention period for each warning level.
  • If there is a large amount of data, you can specify the number of objects to delete per DBQueue Processor operation and run in order to improve performance. Use the configuration parameters "Common\Journal\Delete\BulkCount" and "Common\Journal\Delete\TotalCount" to do this.
  • Configure and set the schedule "Delete journal" in the Designer.

Editing the Scope

In the scope, you can specify system objects to be handled by synchronization. This allows you to limit the number of objects to synchronize. If no scope is defined, all objects in the connected system are synchronized.

If the synchronization project was creating using a default project template, a scope is defined. You may edit this scope. A scope is not define if the synchronization project was created without a project template.

NOTE: To avoid data inconsistencies, define the same scope in both of the connected systems.
Detailed information about this topic

How to Edit a Scope

How to Edit a Scope

To edit the scope

  1. Edit the system connection properties.

    For more information, see How to Edit System Connection Properties.

  2. Select the ScopeClosed view.
  3. Click Edit scope.

To edit the reference scope

  1. Edit the system connection properties.

    For more information, see How to Edit System Connection Properties.

  2. Select the Scope view.
  3. Click Edit reference scope.

How to Delete a Scope

How to Delete a Scope

To delete the scope or scope reference.

  1. Edit the system connection properties.

    For more information, see How to Edit System Connection Properties.

  2. Select the ScopeClosed view.
  3. Click Delete.
Related Documents