Identity Manager 8.1 - Administration Guide for Connecting to SharePoint Online

Mapping a SharePoint Online environment in One Identity Manager Synchronizing a SharePoint Online environment Managing SharePoint Online user accounts and employees Managing the assignments of SharePoint Online groups and roles Mapping of SharePoint Online objects in One Identity Manager
SharePoint Online tenants SharePoint Online user accounts SharePoint Online groups SharePoint Online permission levels SharePoint Online site collections SharePoint Online sites SharePoint Online roles
Handling of SharePoint Online objects in Web Portal Basic data for managing a SharePoint Online environment Appendix: Configuration parameters for managing SharePoint Online Appendix: Default project template for SharePoint Online Appendix: Editing system objects About us

Displaying synchronization results

Synchronization results are summarized in the synchronization log. You can specify the extent of the synchronization log for each system connection individually. One Identity Manager provides several reports in which the synchronization results are organized under different criteria.

To display a synchronization log

  1. Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization Editor.

  2. Select Logs.

  3. Click in the navigation view toolbar.

    Logs for all completed synchronization runs are displayed in the navigation view.

  4. Select a log by double-clicking on it.

    An analysis of the synchronization is shown as a report. You can save the report.

To display a provisioning log.

  1. Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization Editor.

  2. Select Logs.

  3. Click in the navigation view toolbar.

    Logs for all completed provisioning processes are displayed in the navigation view.

  4. Select a log by double-clicking on it.

    An analysis of the provisioning is show as a report. You can save the report.

The log is marked in color in the navigation view. This mark shows you the execution status of the synchronization/provisioning.

Related Topics

Deactivating synchronization

Regular synchronization cannot be started until the synchronization project and the schedule are active.

To prevent regular synchronization

  1. Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization Editor.

  2. Select the start up configuration and deactivate the configured schedule.

    Now you can only start synchronization manually.

An activated synchronization project can only be edited to a limited extend. The schema in the synchronization project must be updated if schema modifications are required. The synchronization project is deactivated in this case and can be edited again.

Furthermore, the synchronization project must be deactivated if synchronization should not be started by any means (not even manually).

To deactivate the synchronization project

  1. Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization Editor.

  2. Select General on the start page.

  3. Click Deactivate project.

Tasks after a synchronization

After the synchronization of data from the target system into the One Identity Manager database, rework may be necessary. Check the following tasks:

Post-processing outstanding objects

Objects, which do not exist in the target system, can be marked as outstanding in One Identity Manager by synchronizing. This prevents objects being deleted because of an incorrect data situation or an incorrect synchronization configuration.

Outstanding objects

  • Cannot be edited in One Identity Manager.

  • Are ignored by subsequent synchronization.

  • Are ignored by inheritance calculations.

This means, all memberships and assignments remain intact until the outstanding objects have been processed.

Start target system synchronization to do this.

To post-process outstanding objects

  1. In the manager, select the SharePoint Online | Target system synchronization: SharePoint Online category.

    All tables assigned to the target system type SharePoint Online as synchronization tables are displayed in the navigation view.

  2. On the Target system synchronization form, in the Table / object column, open the node of the table for which you want to post-process outstanding objects.

    All objects that are marked as outstanding are shown. The Last log entry and Last method run columns display the time at which the last entry was made in the synchronization log and which processing method was executed. The No log available entry can mean the following:

    • The synchronization log has already been deleted.

      - OR -

    • An assignment from a member list has been deleted in the target system.

      The base object of the assignment has been updated during the synchronization. A corresponding entry appears in the synchronization log. The entry in the assignment table is marked as outstanding, but there is no entry in the synchronization log.

    • An object that contains a member list has been deleted in the target system.

      During synchronization, the object and all corresponding entries in assignment tables are marked as outstanding. However, an entry in the synchronization log appears only for the deleted object.

    TIP:

    To display object properties of an outstanding object

    1. Select the object on the target system synchronization form.
    2. Open the context menu and click Show object.
  1. Select the objects you want to rework. Multi-select is possible.

  2. Click one of the following icons in the form toolbar to execute the respective method.

    Table 9: Methods for handling outstanding objects

    Icon

    Method

    Description

    Delete

    The object is immediately deleted in the One Identity Manager database. Deferred deletion is not taken into account. The Outstanding label is removed for the object.

    Indirect memberships cannot be deleted.

    Publish

    The object is added in the target system. The Outstanding label is removed for the object.

    The method triggers the HandleOutstanding event. This runs a target system specific process that triggers the provisioning process for the object.

    Prerequisites:

    • The table containing the object can be published.

    • The target system connector has write access to the target system.

    Reset

    The Outstanding label is removed for the object.

  3. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

NOTE: By default, the selected objects are processed in parallel, which speeds up execution of the selected method. If an error occurs during processing, the action is stopped and all changes are discarded.

Bulk processing of objects must be disabled if errors are to be localized, which means the objects are processed sequentially. Failed objects are named in the error message. All changes that were made up until the error occurred are saved.

To disable bulk processing

  • Deactivate in the form toolbar.

NOTE: The target system connector must have write access to the target system in order to publish outstanding objects that are being post-processed. This means that the Connection is read only option is not set in the target system connection.
Related Documents