Chat now with support
Chat with Support

Identity Manager 8.1 - Target System Synchronization Reference Guide

Target System Synchronization with the Synchronization Editor Basics of Target System Synchronization Setting up Synchronization
Starting the Synchronization Editor Creating a Synchronization Project How to Configure Synchronization
Setting Up Mappings Setting up Synchronization Workflows Connecting Systems Editing the Scope Using Variables and Variable Sets Setting up Start up Configurations Setting up Base Objects
Overview of schema Classes Customizing Synchronization Configuration Checking Synchronization Configuration Consistency Activating the Synchronization Project
Running Synchronization Synchronization Analysis Setting up Synchronization with Default Connectors Updating Existing Synchronization Projects Additional Information for Experts Resolving errors when connecting target systems Appendix: Configuration file examples

How to Create Synchronization Steps

To create a synchronization stepClosed

  1. Select the category Workflows.
  2. Select a workflow in the navigation view.
  3. Click in the workflow view.
  4. Enter the synchronizationClosed step properties.
  5. Click OK.

How to Edit Synchronization Steps

To edit synchronization stepClosed properties

  1. Select the category Workflows.
  2. Select a workflow in the navigation view.
  3. Double-click on the synchronizationClosed step in the workflow.
  4. Edit the synchronization step properties.
  5. Click OK.

To manually specify the order of synchronization steps

  1. Select the category Workflows.
  2. Select a workflow in the navigation view.
  3. Click in the workflow view toolbar to open all the synchronization steps.
  4. To change the order of the synchronization steps, click and on the synchronization step.

To enable or disable synchronization steps

  1. Select the category Workflows.
  2. Select a workflow in the navigation view.
  3. Click in the workflow view's toolbar.
  4. Check the boxes for all synchronization steps that you want to disable.

    - OR -

    Uncheck the boxes for all synchronization steps that you want to enable.

    Multi-select is possible.

  5. Click OK.

How to Delete Synchronization Steps

To delete a synchronization stepClosed

  1. Select the category Workflows.
  2. Select a workflow in the navigation view.
  3. Click in the synchronizationClosed step in the workflow view to open the synchronization step dialog box.
  4. Click .
  5. Confirm the security prompt with Yes.

General Properties of a Synchronization Step

Enter the following general properties for a synchronization stepClosed.

Table 51: General Properties of a Synchronization Step
Property Meaning
Name An arbitrary name for the synchronizationClosed step. The name must be unique within a synchronization workflow.
MappingClosed Select the mapping to be processed by the synchronization step.
Direction of synchronizationClosed Select the direction in which synchronization should take place.
Use workflow templateClosed The direction of synchronization is defined in the workflow.

For more information, see Properties of a workflow.

To the target system One Identity Manager is the master system for synchronization.
To the One Identity Manager The target system is the master system for synchronization.
RevisionClosed filtering The revision filtering can be used to limit synchronization to just the objects that have been modified since the last synchronization.

For more information, see How does revision filtering work?.
Use workflow template The desired behavior is specified with the workflow.
Use revision filter Only modified object are synchronized.
Do not use revision filter All objects are synchronized.

Error Handling

Specify whether synchronization should be continued if an error occurs during processing of synchronization objects (adding, deleting, updating and reloading objects). Object processing is continued using the next object; the error is logged.

To optimize error localization, you can abort synchronization if an error occurs during the processing of synchronization objects. In this case, no further synchronization objects are processed.

NOTE: This property does not affect configuration, network or general synchronization errors (for example, if it is not possible to resolve a reference). The effectiveness of this property depends on the actual error, error position, the target system and the implementation of the target system connectors.
Use workflow template The desired behavior is specified with the workflow.
Continue on error Processing is continued with the next object. Errors are logged.

This option should be used for productive systems.

Break on error The entire synchronization is aborted.

This option should only be used to find errors, for example in going live processes.

Data import

Set this option if the synchronization step synchronizes a secondary system and changes are immediately provisioned in the primary system.

Do not set this option if the synchronization step synchronizes a primary system.

For more information, see Synchronizing user data with different systems.

Description Spare text box for additional explanation.
Disabled If this option is set, the synchronization step is not synchronized.
Related Documents