Chat now with support
Chat with Support

We are currently experiencing issues on our phone support and are working diligently to restore services. For support, please sign in and create a case or email supportadmin@quest.com for assistance

One Identity Safeguard for Privileged Passwords 7.4.1 - Administration Guide

Introduction System requirements and versions Using API and PowerShell tools Using the virtual appliance and web management console Cloud deployment considerations Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time Using the web client Home page Privileged access requests Appliance Management
Appliance Backup and Retention Certificates Cluster Global Services External Integration Real-Time Reports Safeguard Access Appliance Management Settings
Asset Management
Account Automation Accounts Assets Partitions Discovery Profiles Tags Registered Connectors Custom platforms Importing objects
Security Policy Management
Access Request Activity Account Groups Application to Application Cloud Assistant Asset Groups Entitlements Linked Accounts User Groups Security Policy Settings
User Management Reports Disaster recovery and clusters Administrator permissions Preparing systems for management Troubleshooting Frequently asked questions Appendix A: Safeguard ports Appendix B: SPP and SPS join guidance Appendix C: Regular Expressions

Factory reset from the Recovery Kiosk

There is a Factory Reset selection in the Recovery Kiosk. Factory Reset allows you to reset a SPP hardware appliance to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.

Factory reset is not an option for virtual appliances. You will need to redeploy the appliance.

Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against a physical appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. Performing a factory reset will NOT reset the BMC/IPMI interface or the IP address. However, the BMC/IPMI interface will need to be reenabled after the reset has completed (for more information, see Lights Out Management (BMC)). The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time..

In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.

The appliance resets to the current Long Term Support (LTS) version. For example, if the appliance is running version 6.6 (feature release) or 6.0.6 LTS (maintenance Long Term Support release) and then factory reset, the appliance will reset down to 6.0 LTS and you will have to patch up to your desired version. For more information, see Long Term Support (LTS) and Feature Releases..

Factory reset on a clustered appliance

Performing a factory reset on a clustered hardware appliance will not automatically remove the appliance from a cluster. The recommended best practice is to unjoin an appliance from the cluster before performing a factory reset on the appliance. After the unjoin and factory reset, the appliance must be configured again. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time..

To perform a factory reset from the Recovery Kiosk

CAUTION: As part of the factory reset process, you will be performing a challenge response operation.

If the challenge response operation is invalidated, try restarting the process to generate a new challenge response. If that fails, contact One Identity Support for assistance.

  1. To perform a hardware factory reset, go to the Recovery Kiosk. For more information, see Recovery Kiosk (Serial Kiosk)..
  2. Select Factory Reset.

  3. Press the right arrow.

  4. At Name or Email, enter your email or name and press the Tab key (or down arrow).

  5. Select Submit.

  6. At View Challenge, press the Enter key. Safeguard for Privileged Passwords produces a challenge. (If the challenge is not shown, maximize Putty.)

  7. Copy and paste the challenge into a text document and send it to One Identity Support. A challenge response is only good for 48 hours.

    IMPORTANT: Do not reboot the machine during the challenge response process.

  8. When you get the response from One Identity Support, copy and paste the response into the kiosk screen and select Factory Reset. The response is only valid for 24 hours from when it was generated by One Identity.
  9. Once the factory reset is completed the appliance will need to be reconfigured.

See the following Knowledge Base Article for details on using the MGMT network interface for factory reset: KB 232766: What are the steps to perform a factory reset from the recovery kiosk or MGMT network interface on physical devices?

Support bundle

Prior to using the Support Bundle function, set up a Windows share where the support bundle is to be sent.

To generate a support bundle

  1. From the Recovery Kiosk, select the Support Bundle option.
  2. Press the right arrow.
  3. Select the type of support bundle to be generated:

    • Support Bundle
    • Quarantine Bundle
  4. When prompted, enter the following information:

    • Address: Enter the address of the Windows share (<IP Address>\<ShareName>) where the support bundle is to be saved.
    • User: Enter the user name to be used to access the Windows share.
    • Password: Enter the password associated with the specified user account.

      NOTE: If you set up the Windows share to allow anonymous access, you will not be prompted to enter a user name or password.

  5. Select Copy to Share. When completed, a message appears stating that a support bundle has been sent to the specified share.

Replica not adding

If you receive a persistent message that says, An internal request has timed out... when you attempt to add an appliance to a cluster, ensure that the appliance is at the same version of SPP as the primary. All members of a cluster must be the same.

System services did not update or restart after password or SSH key change

If the system services do not update or restart after an automatic password or SSH key change, first check your audit logs in the Activity Center.

NOTE: You can also check the Support bundle logs.

If the audit logs do not adequately explain the problem, then check the options on the Change password or Change SSH key tab of the profile that governs the service account.

  1. Navigate to Asset Management > Partitions.
  2. Select a partition then click Password Profiles or SSH Key Profiles.
  3. Double-click the selection in the grid.
  4. On the profile dialog, go to the Change Password or Change SSH Key tab.

For service accounts that run system services or scheduled system tasks, verify the options on the profile's Change password tab or Change SSH Key tab that enable or disable automatic service update, or restart. You must update the setting to change these options.

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating