Password or SSH key is pending a reset
If a user receives a persistent message that states either of the following types of messages, the account password or SSH key is stuck in a pending password/SSH key change state:
- You cannot checkout the password or SSH key for this account while another request is pending password or SSH key reset
- This account has password or SSH key requests which have not yet expired or have to be reviewed. It cannot be deleted now"
- Ensure that the service account for the asset associated with this account is working. Then manually change the account password or SSH key . See: Checking, changing, or setting an account password and Checking, changing, or setting an SSH key.
- Or, if the service account for the asset is working properly and the policy governing the account allows emergency access and has enabled multiple users simultaneous access, you can instruct the user to request the password or SSH key using Emergency Access.
You can allow new access requests whether a prior request is approved or not approved. In other words, no requests will be blocked based on the approval status of a prior request. Setting the Pending reviews do not block access check box only pertains to future requests. For more information, see Workflow tab (create access request policy).
Password or SSH key profile did not run
The password and SSH key management settings Appliance Management > Enable or Disable Services enable the automatic profile check and change schedules in partitions.
Ensure the password and SSH key management settings are enable for profiles to run on schedule:
- Check Password Management Enabled
- Change Password Management Enabled
- Check SSH Key Management Enabled
- Change SSH Key Management Enabled
Recovery Kiosk (Serial Kiosk)
Safeguard for Privileged Passwordsprovides a Recovery Kiosk (Serial Kiosk) with the following options.
- Appliance information (Recovery Kiosk): Allows you to view basic appliance information.
- Power options: These options allow you to remotely restart or shut down the appliance.
- Admin password reset: Allows you to reset the Bootstrap Administrator's password to its initial value.
Factory reset from the Recovery Kiosk: Allows you to recover from major problems or to clear the data and configuration settings on the appliance.
Factory reset is not available for virtual appliances. Virtual appliances are backed up and can be recovered. For more information, see Virtual appliance backup and recovery.
Caution: Care should be taken when performing a factory reset against a physical appliance, because this operation removes all data and audit history, returning it to its original state when it first came from the factory. Performing a factory reset will NOT reset the BMC/IPMI interface or the IP address. However, the BMC/IPMI interface will need to be reenabled after the reset has completed (for more information, see Lights Out Management (BMC)). The appliance must go through configuration again as if it had just come from the factory. For more information, see Setting up Safeguard for Privileged Passwords for the first time.
In addition, performing a factory reset may change the default SSL certificate and default SSH host key.
The appliance resets to the current Long Term Support (LTS) version. For example, if the appliance is running version 6.6 (feature release) or 6.0.6 LTS (maintenance Long Term Support release) and then factory reset, the appliance will reset down to 6.0 LTS and you will have to patch up to your desired version. For more information, see Long Term Support (LTS) and Feature Releases.
- Support bundle: Allows you to generate and send a support bundle to a Windows share.
To start the Recovery Kiosk
On the terminal or laptop running the Recovery Kiosk, you must configure your serial port settings as follows:
- Connect a serial cable from a laptop or terminal to the serial port on the back of the appliance marked with |0|0|.
On the laptop or terminal, configure the serial port settings as follows:
- Speed: 115200
- Data bits: 8
- Parity: None
- Stop bit: 1
These options display on the Recovery Kiosk screen:
- Appliance Information
- Admin Password Reset
- Factory Reset (Not available for virtual appliances.)
- Support Bundle
- Use the up-arrow and down-arrow to select one of these options.
- Use the right-arrow to initiate the option.
- Use the left-arrow to return to the option.
Kiosk keyboard shortcuts
Safeguard for Privileged Passwords provides these keyboard shortcuts. If you make the window too small to accommodate the kiosk elements, Safeguard for Privileged Passwords tells you how to readjust the window size.
- Ctrl + R: Redraws the kiosk to fit a resized window. If you resize the window, press Ctrl + R to reorganize the kiosk elements to fit properly into the newly-sized window.
Appliance information (Recovery Kiosk)
Use the Appliance Information option on the Recovery Kiosk to view basic appliance information and edit the IP addresses.
If you are using Azure, configure the SPP VM with a static IP address in Azure. If you need to change the IP address of the Safeguard appliance, or if it changes due to dynamic configuration in Azure, and the appliance is part of a cluster, the appliance will automatically reset to Standalone Read-only mode on the next boot (effectively leaving the cluster). The Administrator can join the appliance back to the cluster.
To view or edit the appliance information
- From the Recovery Kiosk, select the Appliance Information option.
Right-arrow to see:
- Appliance State: The appliance's current state.
- Uptime: The amount of time (hours and minutes) the appliance has been running.
- MGMT (not used Azure): The management host's network interface properties, including the MAC address and IPv4 (and optionally IPv6) properties.
- X0: The network interface properties for the primary interface that connects your appliance to the network, including the MAC address and IPv4 (and optionally IPv6) properties.
- To change the network properties for the primary interface (XO), click Edit next to the appropriate heading. Clicking Edit displays the network interface properties which can be modified. If you are using Azure, the IP address cannot be changed.
After editing the network interface properties, click Submit.
Once the updates are completed, a Network interface update request accepted message is displayed.