CAUTION: Patches do not change customizations in synchronization projectsA collection of all data required for synchronizingThe process of comparing data between One Identity Manager and a target system. Objects and their properties are compared by fixed rules. Synchronization results in the identical data situation in the target system and One Identity Manager database. and provisioning a target system. Connection data, schema classes and properties, mappingsList of object matching rules and property mapping rules which map the schema properties of two connected systems to one another., and synchronization workflows all belongs to this.. This mean that conflicts may occur if patches are applied to synchronization projects, which have been customized. This may cause loss of data.
Before you apply a patch
NOTE: If synchronization projects are updated, connection parameters from the default variable set are always used. Ensure that the variables in the default variable set contain the correct values.
One Identity Manager has three patch types. All patches that are applied are displayed in the synchronization project's migration details. Once a milestone has been applied, the associated patches are not listed separately in the migration details anymore.
|Patch for optional functionality
|Patch for solved problems.
|Milestones are provided with every new One Identity Manager version. A milestone is provided for each context, which includes all the solved issues of the previous version. It does not contain the optional features of the previous version.
Patches can be dependent on each other. These dependencies determine the order in which the patches are applied. When a patch is applied, the patches that are dependent on it are also applied. If a new version of One Identity Manager is installed, all patches for the version are consolidated into one milestone. If patches are available for different version of the program, the older patches must always be applied first. Therefore, One Identity Manager automatically applies all previous milestone once a patch for a later version is selected.
Patches and their dependencies are displayed in the patch view. The left side shows the patches that are available. The newest patches are at the top. Dependent patches are displayed below. In this area, select the patches that you want to apply to the current synchronization project. Then the patches are displayed on the right-hand side, with all their predecessor in the order in which they will be applied.
Each patch contains a script which checks if the patch can be applied to the synchronization project. Whether or not a patch can be applied depends on the concrete synchronization configuration.
|Shows patches with fixes.
|Shows all patches for optional features.
|Shows all patches that are cannot be applied to the synchronization project.
|Shows all patches that are already applied to the synchronization project.
Some patches required user input during installation, for example, to confirm that you really want a particular change to be executed.
To apply patches
Open the synchronization project in the Synchronization EditorOne Identity Manager tool for configuring target system synchronizationPost processing of objects that were marked as outstanding by synchronization...
Select Edit | Update synchronization project... from the menu.
Optional: Select the patches to be applied under Available patches. Multi-select is possible.
In the patch detail view, patches are listed in the order in which they will be applied.
Click Apply selected patches.
Enter any user input as prompted.
If necessary, use the patch log to check whether customization need to be reworked.
If required, rework customizations in the synchronization configuration.
Run a consistency check.
Simulate the synchronization.
Activate the synchronization project.
- Save the changes.
NOTE: A patch does not take effect until the changes associated with it are saved in the database. If consistency check or simulation errors occur that cannot be corrected, you can dismiss the patch changes by reloading the synchronization project without saving the changes.