Chat now with support
Chat with Support

One Identity Starling Hosted - User Guide

Applications

The Applications option on the Settings page allows you to add an application to create a relying party trust that allows directory users to authenticate and use the target application.

There are 2 methods for adding applications:

  1. Manually configure the application.

  2. Upload SAML2 Metadata for the application.

Joined Products

The Joined Products option on the Settings page allows you to view and manage the One Identity products currently joined to your Starling organization.

To delete a joined product

CAUTION: This feature is only intended to be used in rare cases (for example, deleting an uninstalled One Identity product that was not first unjoined from Starling). When using this feature, you are only deleting the Starling side of the connection which means an active One Identity product may still attempt to connect. If at all possible, you should use the unjoin option from within the One Identity Product instead since it will correctly disconnect both products.

  1. From the Starling home page, click the button in the upper right corner.
  2. In the Joined Products section of the Settings page, click Manage.
  3. On the Manage Joined Products page, locate the product instance to be removed.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. A confirmation dialog will appear warning you of the potential issues with removing a joined product from within Starling instead of through the product itself. Click Delete to remove the joined product.

Manage Organization Admins page

IMPORTANT: Only organization administrators can access this page.

The Manage Organization Admins page allows you to view and manage the users associated with your organization.

The following options and information appears on this page:

This field is used for filtering the displayed users.

Name

This is the name associated with the user.

Email

This is the email address associated with the user.

Role

This is the role currently assigned to the user.

Clicking the button associated with a user allows you to change a user's role. Depending on the type of user you are looking at, Promote to Organization Admin or Demote to Collaborator will be available for selection.

NOTE: This option does not appear when you are viewing your own account since you cannot demote your own role. It also does not appear for users that do not have a Starling account (for example, Two-Factor Authentication end users). To view a list of users associated with your services, see Access Summary page.

Editing organization roles

The Manage Organization Admins page allows organization administrators to manage the users associated with your Starling organization by promoting or demoting a user's access level within the organization.

To edit a role within an organization

NOTE: Only organization administrators can edit roles within an organization. Also, you cannot demote your own role.

  1. From the Starling home page, click the button in the upper right corner.
  2. In the Organization Admins section of the Settings page, click Manage.
  3. Locate the user you want to edit. You can use the filtering options at the top of the page to filter the listed users.
  4. Click the button associated with the user and, depending on their current role, you can select to either demote the user to a collaborator or promote them to an organization administrator.
    • Demote to Collaborator: Selecting this option will demote the user to a collaborator within the organization. This role retains access to all services they are currently assigned, but they have limited capabilities when it comes to configuring the organization. This means they will be unable to access the Access Summary page and cannot delete the organization.
    • Promote to Organization Admin: Selecting this option will promote the user to an organization administrator within the organization. This role retains access to all services they are currently assigned and also allows them to configuring the organization. This means they will be able to access the Access Summary page and can delete the organization.

    The new user role will automatically save once an option has been selected.

Related Documents

The document was helpful.

Select Rating

I easily found the information I needed.

Select Rating